“Wrath Of The Norsemen” by Amon Amarth

Artist: Amon Amarth
Title: “Wrath Of The Norsemen”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 5/30/2006
Genre: Viking Metal/Death Metal
Rating: 8.5/10

There are many bands who claim to be Vikings and there are also many who hold the spirit of their ancestors high but I have to admit that none pull this off as effectively as Amon Amarth. The group has been part of the Metal Blade Records family for 10 years and this DVD package is the perfect celebration of this relationship. It is the kind of DVD that is not only perfect for existing fans but the type that manages to win over a novice or unaware fan. I can say this with truth in my heart as I was one of the unaware. Amon Amarth had recently been on tour with Children Of Bodom and in the states the fans got to see them support their release of “Fate Of Norns” which is a sword-worthy epic of Metal. While the group were only able to do a little more than a handful of songs you could tell by their presence and their crowd approval that there was much more to this group than most openers had to them. This DVD gives you 7.5 hours of concert footage to absorb and it should be more than enough to help you feel the same way. The three DVD’s are not only lengthy but also loaded with 5 full concert appearances of the group from over the past few years. DVD1 is the longest of the concert features and was filmed in Cologne in 2005. This show itself runs 22 songs and has a behind the scenes “making of” featurette to enjoy as well. I admit liking the whole package but this DVD won me over as the best of the lot and worth the admission price so to speak. The band sounds tight and energetic and very, very heavy; they also prove their Viking status by having a full battle during one of the songs with swords and shields a plenty. Given the dramatic lighting used through the show I am surprised they were able to pull this off so effectively and not find themselves hurt.

Overall this was one hell of a show and I think Metal is richer with the presence of Amon Amarth doing their thing on a nightly basis. The other DVD’s are listed for you and as you can see there is not much in the way of bonus footage yet do we really need an over abundance of fluff when the chance to enjoy the Metal is available? I think not for this is a DVD done properly, no useless banter and endless crowd shots and screaming drunken idiots. I don’t buy DVD’s of concerts for the bonus features and when these features overshadow the main product there is little reason to buy it. There is a few instances of duplication of songs across the package, but overall you get practically all of the music the band had recorded over the years.

Summer Breeze Festival (Abtsgmund 8/18/2005):
Intro, An Ancient Sign Of Coming Storm, Pursuit Of Vikings, Masters of War, Fate of Norns, 1000 Years Of Oppression, Vs the World, For the Stabwounds In Our Backs, Victorious March, Death In Fire
Live at the Metal Blade RRROOOAAARRR – 10/2/2005:
Sorrow Throughout The Nine Worlds, Dragons Flight Across The Waves, God His Son And Holy Whore, The Sound Of Eight Hooves, Thor Arise, Fall Through Ginnungagap, Burning Creation, And Soon The World Will Cease To Be, Valkyries Ride, Pursuit Of Vikings, Beheading Of A King, Revenge Of The Zombie (SFU Cover), Death In

Wacken Open Air (Wacken 8/6/2004):
Victorious March, For The Stabwounds In Our Backs, Where Silent Gods Stand Guard, The Sound of Eight Hooves , Avenger, Death In Fire, Pursuit of Vikings, Bastards of a Lying Breed, Masters of War,
Vs The World
Live in Ludwigsburg (Germany) – record release show for “Fate Of Norns”

For The Stabwounds In Our Backs, Vs The World, Masters Of War, North Sea Storm, Thousand Years of Oppression, Bloodshed, The Last With Pagan Blood, An Ancient Sign Of Coming Storm, Pursuit Of Vikings, Fate of Norns, Once Sealed In Blood, Death In Fire, The Sound Of Eight Hooves, Bleed For Ancient Gods, Where Silent Gods Stand Guard, Victorious March.

This DVD is a high recommendation based on the quality Metal delivered on its contents. More bands need to follow in this example and give the audience better value for the money the are spending on them, given the amount of footage most groups possess this was a pleasant surprise for me to watch with no disappointment at all. Now, if you’ll please excuse me – I have a sword to sharpen.

Track Listing DVD1:
1. Intro
2. An Ancient Sign Of Coming Storm
3. Pursuit Of Vikings
4. Ride For Vengeance
5. Masters Of War
6. The Last With Pagan Blood
7. Once Sealed In Blood
8. Bastards Of A Lying Breed
9. Fate Of Norns
10. Thousand Years Of Oppression
11. Vs. The World
12. North Sea Storm
13. Releasing Surtur’s Fire
14. Annihilation At Hammerfest
15. Friends Of The Suncross
16. Bloodshed
17. Amon Amarth
18. For The Stabwounds In Our Backs
19. Where Silent Gods Stand Guard
20. Bleed For Ancient Gods
21. Victorious March
22. Death In Fire
23. The Vikings Are Coming – A Look Behind The Scenes In Cologne

Official Website: www.amonamarth.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.