“What The Mind Perceives” by Beyond The Flesh

Artist: Beyond The Flesh
Title: “What The Mind Perceives”
Label: Escapi Music
Release Date: March 25. 2005
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 2/5

As a metal appreciator for nearly three decades, I think I’m qualified to offer the following advice to any would-be metal performers: enough with the shredded wheat vocals, already! Unless done with an intentional aim toward comedy, such stylings aren’t scary, more often than not end up sounding silly, and do not serve to mask your front man’s crooning deficiencies. This offering from Beyond The Flesh is not a bad album by any means, although admittedly a tad generic, but it’s almost sunk by the ludicrously laughable vocals that sound like what would ensue if your housecats stood up and made with a metal duet (listen to the track entitled “Fleshwound” and tell me I’m wrong).

The album itself is a workmanlike bit of product replete with machine gun drumming that reminds one of the finale of Brian DePalma’s Scarface, accented by the aforementioned taking-a-hard-dump vocals. In other words, nothing terribly original, but not worthy of being used as a coaster for your beer.

Track Listing:
1. Rise Above The Weak
2. Fleshwound
3. The Scars That Remain
4. Is This Life?
5. The Sick
6. Wasteland
7. Darkest Days
8. Scattered Thoughts
9. Prophecies Of The Dead
10. What The Mind Perceives

Official Website: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Beyond-The-Flesh/444034168967535

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.