“W.A.R.P.E.D.” by Chris Caffery

Artist: Chris Caffery
Title: “W.A.R.P.E.D.”
Label: Black Lotus Records
Release Date: 9/27/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

When you begin playing your copy of “W.A.R.P.ED.” you will probably find it to be a little familiar to you. You see the reason is because this new CD release by Chris Caffery is not entirely new at all. If you were one of the smart ones, when Chris released “Faces” in 2004 he included a bonus CD that was meant for a future release. This CD was entitled “God Damned War” or “GDW” for short. It was a great inclusion as a bonus and really gave the Chris fan a large amount of music for the money. Very different however from the musical explorations on “Faces”, “GDW” is a bit heavier and now with added tracks this has been released on the public as “W.A.R.P.E.D.”. Chris explores deeper into the themes of the War as he introduced on “GDW”, the piece is definitely meant to be listened to from start to finish. “Home Is Where The Hell Is” kicks off the CD now but I did feel that “GDW” was the better track to start. I have liked the “Saddamize” track since I first heard it, and this one features Mark Wood of the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. The rest of the recording lineup on this piece is Jeff Plate (drums), Dave Z. (bass) and Paul Morris (keyboards). Jon Oliva makes an appearance in “Iraq Attack”.

The CD comes in a highly illustrated package in which it seems Chris truly gave his design team a run for their money. With all the graphics and layout it’s very impressive and adds to the vibe of the piece. The photos inside all relate to combat and arms and the booklet lines out the story very well. On the original “Faces” the story of GDW was very difficult to read due to incredibly small print. You can now appreciate it page by page and absorb the message that Caffery is delivering. Not only follow along but can also see the level of songwriter he has become over the years. Insightful and smart at times and bearing a cutting wit at others. The subject of War is never an easy thing to discuss as it touches very close to home in many people of all walks of life. Chris makes sure his irreverence if any is focused on the Political Machine rather than the enlisted men. “State Of The Head” and “Election Day” work along those themes. You also are given a code in which you can download an extra track from Chris’ website. The track would not fit on the release without making this become a double.

I have to say that if you enjoyed the CD included with “Faces” then I highly recommend this for it does bring you enough of a difference from it’s originally showcased form. I feel that the Savatage fans will run for this as well since the core following of the band tends to support the various members solo efforts. Chris has managed to give us music that holds true to the Savatage spirit but ventures off in his own direction without sounding repetitive. “Piece be With You”, I’m out of here.

Track Listing:
1. Home Is Where The Hell Is
2. God Damn War
3. Election Day
4. Erase
5. Fool, Fool!
6. Edge Of Darkness
7. Saddamize
8. “I”
9. Iraq Attack
10. W.A.R.P.E.D.
11. State Of The Head
12. Amazing Grace
13. Piece Be With You
14. Beat Me, You’ll Never Beat Me
15. Curtains

Official Web site: www.ChrisCaffery.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.