“Volcano” by Satyricon

Artist: Satyricon
Title: “Volcano”
Label: EatUrMusic/Red Ink
Release Date: 4/13/2004
Rating: 4/5

Statistics and record sales show very vividly the increase in popularity of Black Metal in countries far away from the music’s land of origin. Attendance at the shows, especially in America illustrates this as a trend with no sign of an end. The bands are numerous and at times not all will be as good as the others but one of the best and most innovative of them all is Satryicon. Led by Satyr and completed by Frost, this two man team is a bringer of destruction and musical proficiency that more bands should take note of. The band was started by Satyr in 1993 with the demo “The Forest Is My Throne” and has grown musically and creatively since the group’s inception. On the albums Satyr handles vocals, guitars and keyboards while the former Gorgoroth skin basher is left in charge of kit destruction – very honestly this simple formula works when it comes right down to it. Songs like “Repined Bastard Nation” and “Fuel For Hatred” are killer numbers but instead of being dizzying displays of riffs over and over there is a stronger level of music going on in the songs. I feel this is the highest aspect of Satryicons appeal, as instead of following standards and predictability, they instead kick it up a notch by being a little more on the creative side. This process allows the band to better adapt to the ever-changing wave of musical styles. The past couple of years have shown this to be the smarter practice as bands like Opeth, Hypocrisy and Dimmu Borgir prove on a regular basis. In addition to the music, this enhanced CD includes the video for “Fuel For Hatred” which is pretty good. It’s essentially a performance piece more than a stylish video. The booklet is ripe with lyrics to the tracks as well as some black and white photographs that add to the mood. There is some explicit language present but this remains a must investigate band for those that are interested in bands that choose to defy convention instead of remain stagnant.

Track Listing:
1. With Ravenous Hunger
2. Angstridden
3. Fuel For Hatred
4. Suffering The Tyrants
5. Possessed
6. Repined Bastard Nation
7. Mental Mercury
8. Black Lava

Satyricon Website: www.satryicon.no

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.