“Voice Of Wilderness” by Korpiklaani

Artist: Korpiklaani
Title: “Voice Of Wilderness”
Label: Napalm Records
Release Date: 4/5/2005
Genre: Folk Metal
Rating: 8/10

Folk Metal was something entirely new to me and only recently had caught my attention when I heard the music of Finntroll. When a writing colleague suggested that I should also give a listen to Korpiklaani I decided to give it a sample. As I began to play “Voice Of Wilderness” I pretty much expected something like Finntroll or an exact replica of their style. However, I can inform you that this Finnish band handles this genre with a different and more accessible feel than Finntroll puts forward. Korpiklaani has more band members and as a result are able to give you a fuller and more authentic Folk sound. This is done by having full-time players who utilize more Folk oriented instruments like the accordion and flutes alongside various percussive devices. Can you recall the last time that you heard an accordion was a prevalent instrument in Heavy Metal music? There is a good chance you haven’t until now and I am very happy to report that the group uses all of these added pieces to a degree of success. At eight core members the band certainly has a full lineup which is made up of Jonne (vocals, guitar), Hittavainen (violin, jouhilkko, flutes), Matson (drums), Ali (percussion), Honka (guitars), Arto (bass), Cane (guitars), and Juho (accordion). This mass amount of players takes traditional Finnish Folk melodies and combines them with a great blend of Heavy Metal music. The efforts are nothing short of incredible and just go to show you how any different directions Metal music can be set in. Korpiklaani music makes you feel as though you are enjoying tales and ale with Friends at some outdoor celebration while the band jams in the background.

I had a number of favored pieces on this CD from the heavier track of “Journey Man” and “Beer Beer” to the completely Folkish “Kadet Siipina” and “Fields In Flames”. In truth I found very little on this CD to be a disappointment and I plan on looking up their last album also. If you are a fan of the Finntroll style but want something that expands upon this a little more then this CD comes with the highest of recommendations. You will find that this entire CD is an energetic romp that holds many rousing segments inside. I can guarantee that you have not heard anything like this before and it’s high time for Metal fans to open their minds to things that are different and unique. Thanks to Korpiklaani a new chapter in a new vein of the genre is reinforced. Grab this CD and some Finnish ale (if you are of age that is).

Track List:
1. Cottages & Saunas
2. Journey Man
3. Fields In Flames
4. Pine Woods
5. Spirit Of The Forest
6. Native Land
7. Hunting Song
8. Ryyppajaiset
9. Beer, Beer
10. Old Tale
11. Kadet Siipina

Official Web site: www.Korpiklaani.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.