“Visions Of The Beast” by Iron Maiden

Artist: Iron Maiden
Title: “Visions Of The Beast”
Label: Sony Music
Release Date: 7/15/2003
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 5/5

When you look back on the body of work that Iron Maiden has issued over the course of their career it the results are very impressive. Holding strong at over 20 albums consisting of studio efforts, live releases and greatest hit compilations Iron Maiden has always held the banner of Heavy Metal high this something that all fans should own. The double DVD Edition features all of the videos from the very beginning of their career until the album “Brave New World”. Fans get presentations by every singer in the group, which started out with Paul DiAnno, who was replaced by Bruce Dickinson. Dickinson has the most videos since his tenure was the longest and only briefly interrupted by his departure a few years ago. Blaze Bailey took on the mantle from there until Bruce decided to return to the group in 1999. Given their time of recording, many of the videos might seem sub-par based on their simplistic nature and overall campy nature. Songs like “Run To The Hills” especially come to mind as they include silent movie Cowboy vs. Indians footage as well as band concert imagery. Many of the videos also seem to be focused on Maiden being on stage doing lip-synching to the tracks. There are some cool animated menus to navigate around and for those that want a comprehensive example of the band historically in terms of videos – then you must grab a copy of this release. Everyone has a favorite Iron Maiden song and I think that this release caters to the larger public in that respect. Some of these clips will take you back in time, especially if you grew up along with the band. My favorites remain with “Wasted Years”, “Can I Play With Madness” and “Number Of The Beast”.

Iron Maiden has also released a couple of other concert videos that merit looking into. The Fans might enjoy “Rock In Rio” (which is also on CD) and “The Early Years” which features unreleased footage that is a guaranteed satisfier. Make sure you look into them as well as this release to complete your Iron Maiden collection. Given the band shows no signs of stopping, I think we will see a volume two in the years to come.

Song Listing:
1. Women in Uniform
2. Wrathchild
3. Run to the Hills
4. The Number of the Beast
5. Flight of Icarus
6. The Trooper
7. 2 Minutes to Midnight
8. Aces High
9. Wasted Years
10. Stranger in a Strange Land
11. Can I Play With Madness
12. The Evil That Men Do
13. The Clair Voyant
14. Infinite Dreams
15. Holy Smoke
16. Tail Gunner
17. Bring Your Daughter to the Slaughter
18. Be Quick or Be Dead
19. From Here to Eternity
20. Wasting Love
21. Fear of the Dark – live
22. Hallowed Be Thy Name – live
23. Man on the Edge
24. Afraid to Shoot Strangers – live
25. Lord of the Flies
26. Virus
27. The Angel and the Gambler
28. Futureal
29. The Wicker Man
30. Out of the Silent Planet
31. Brave New World

Official Web site: www.ironmaiden.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.