“Video Collection:1997-2003” by HIM

Artist: H.I.M.
Title: “The Video Collection: 1997-2003”
Label: Universal Records
Release Date: 12/7/2004
Genre: Gothic Rock
Rating: 7/10

In the United States H.I.M. seems to be an overnight sensation that just came to us early last year. In truth the group has had a far longer and more successful career in Europe for over 10 years. Most of their CD Releases were made available to us in 2004 and 2005 and among these pieces was also the DVD Collection of the bands videos. I have to inform readers that it was the video for “Join Me In Death” that first drew me to the music and this is the type of appeal that this band of Finns has over the listener. This is a perfect companion to the H.I.M. CD collection and almost a necessity since these videos will probably never be featured on MTV or VH1. To describe the music of H.I.M. to the inexperienced is quite simply to take a Rock vibe and mix with hints of Gothic and Dark overtones. The band has more in common with Billy Idol and Joy Division than other types of Finnish Metallers. Ville Vallo sings of love, loss, heartbreak and death in almost every song and while the material might seem utterly morose based on the titles you will find that the music breaks from the dismal nature and is very creative and catchy.

There is some cool bonus footage included such as the Making of “The Sacrament” and “Buried Alive By Love” as well as some interview segments. Bam Marguera, an MTV celebrity from the show “Viva La Bam” describes what about the band appealed to him so much that he would help with the creation of their last few videos. Ville Vallo also gives some good background on the band and its origins as “His Infernal Majesty” up until the time of the interview. I enjoyed the piece as I always like a nicely done video and their mini-movies are shot well. Like I said one of them actually made me look more into the band and that amounts to something. They hold some difference to videos from straight ahead Metal bands were everyone is in a room jamming. I have to also inform the female fan base (which is massive in scope) that they will enjoy all the various shots of Ville that they get in this DVD.

There is no booklet to speak of, just a page that lists the existing CD Releases. Yet overall it’s a great introduction to the style, look and sound of the group. It’s also very affordable in most cases. Take a look into it.

Track Listing:
1. Buried Alive By Love
2. The Funeral Of Hearts
3. Gone With The Sin
4. Heartache Every Moment
5. In Joy And Sorrow
6. Join Me In Death
7. Poison Girl
8. Pretending
9. Right Here In My Arms
10. The Sacrament
11. When Love And Death Embrace
12. Wicked Game
13. The Fourth Wall – bonus feature
14. Interrogation Footage – bonus feature

Official Web site: www.Heartagram.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.