“Unleash The Fury” by Yngwie Malmsteen

Artist: Yngwie Malmsteen
Title: “Unleash The Fury”
Label: Spitfire Records
Release Date: 7/26/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

Yngwie Malmsteen is clearly a legend in the guitar world and with very good reason. His level of play has never faltered and with Rising Force he has released perhaps his finest work to date as far as Heavy Metal goes. “Unleash The Fury” comes to us care of Spitfire Records home to other Metal luminaries such as Twisted Sister and Overkill and this release is truly loaded from top to bottom. A guitar players fantasy comes true on this release for it contains a full 18 tracks. Truly taking advantage of the time allowed on a CD medium. No such thing as a 30 minute CD release from Yngwie (a welcome change I admit from the norm).Solid Metal content that brings me back to the early days of his playing and a foursome of instrumentals that will please fans of his classical metal styling and musical education. All across the scope of the CD, Yngwie’s playing reminds you of why he has achieved the acclaim he has received for so many years. His fluid solos make it sound so easy, but in truth the execution of this is borderline genius. He has gotten better as time has marched on, and this will be some 21 years of Malmsteen as a solo artist (older fans might recall he was in Alcatrazz and Steeler at one time in his youth). The production on the CD is stellar also, and believe it or not you will find all instruments of equal mix. Malmsteen does not overshadow the members of his band instead choosing to let them compliment his work and that’s how it should be.

I mentioned many tracks took me back, and when listening to “The Hunt” and “Magic & Mayhem” I might as well been listening to “Marching Out” for they sounded just like the famous record. Not copies of course but good enough to be on this record that was an industry ground breaker. The players joining Mr. Malmsteen are Dougie White – Vocals, Patrick Johansson – Drums, Joakim Svalberg – Keyboards. This incarnation of Rising Force is perhaps among the finest in years. Fans who still lament for Jeff Scott Soto’s material should be suitably impressed at the work that Dougie White does on the piece. “Locked & Loaded” is a great intro piece and quickly sets up the pace of the CD. Regarding the drumming side; Patrick Johansson has played with Yngwie for so long that he appears to be an extension of what gets done on the guitar. This statement is most apparent in songs like “Let The Good Times Roll” (which is another favorite of mine). “Cherokee Warrior” will give fans the chance to hear Yngwie sing lead as well. The instrumentals of “Fuguetta” and “Paraphrase” touch upon the classical music influences that Malmsteen has long showcased in a variety of fashions over the course of his career and albums.

With 18 tunes making up the CD, it is a little difficult for the reviewer to lock into more than a handful of points. Yet given the fact that the CD is so strong overall, it will appeal to Yngwie fans both new and old and that is the best way to define it.

Track Listing:
1. Locked & Loaded
2. Revolution
3. Cracking The Whip
4. Winds Of War (Invasion)
5. Crown Of Thorns
6. The Bogeyman
7. Beauty And A Beast
8. Fuguetta (Instrumental)
9. Cherokee Warrior
10. Guardian Angel (Instrumental)
11. Let The Good Times Roll
12. Revelation (Drinking With The Devil)
13. Magic And Mayhem (Instrumental)
14. Exile
15. The Hunt
16. Russian Roulette
17. Unleash The Fury
18. Paraphrase (Instrumental)

Official Website: www.Yngwie.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.