“Tyranny Of Souls” by Bruce Dickinson

Artist: Bruce Dickinson
Title: “Tyranny Of Souls”
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 5/24/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

As the charismatic front man of Iron Maiden; Bruce Dickinson certainly needs no introduction. He has been giving the people Metal at the helm of this band since he debuted with “Number Of The Beast” in 1982. He broke off from the band to do some solo records for a few years and eventually returned to Maiden for recording and touring full time once again. Somehow he managed to get another solo CD completed in the midst of the constant world touring he has been doing. His latest solo effort is an impressive piece of Metal and will appeal to all of his legions of fans who support him in Iron Maiden. Dickinson’s last solo release was seven years ago with “The Chemical Wedding” (a CD that received a large amount of critical and fan acclaim and very rightly so). This was a dark and heavy CD that kept with Bruce’s Metal roots and now with “Tyranny Of Souls” he is proving that lightning can strike twice on someone’s solo efforts. Working on similar dark themes, this new CD is very much the solid listen from start to finish and perhaps this is partially Dickinson and partially the skills of guitarist/producer Roy Z. Z. not only worked with Dickinson before, but is also known for his work on releases by Helloween, Halford and the reunited Judas Priest on their CD “Angel Of Retribution”.

When you first play this CD you will notice how little this resembles an Iron Maiden record and I liked that fact the most. After all, we Metal fans have more than enough Iron Maiden music where we can hear Bruce in that context. It is nice to be able to enjoy his solo music separately from that. Given the fact that a fair amount of it is killer material, it makes listening to the CD a better experience. Among the number of notable tracks my favorites included “Soul Intruders” which is the heaviest track and holds the most Maiden like chorus. There are also numbers that cross into different Hard Rock styles as well and this is apparent on “Devil On A Hog”. This tune could have been released from one of the big 70’s hard rockers like Rainbow. There is also a ballad like number with “Navigate The Seas Of The Sun”. An enjoyable piece but as others have commented repeats the title far too much for my liking. “Tyranny Of Souls” itself was also a favorite. Overall good song-writing, not a repeat of Iron Maiden riffing and a very solid production on every track. The liner notes reference that the CD was recorded entirely with Pro-Tools. A method many are choosing these days. All lyrics and interesting art are featured in the booklet included.

Comprising the band for the recording is of course Bruce Dickinson (vocals), Roy Z. (all guitars), David Moreno (drums), Ray Burke/Juan Perez (bass) and Maestro Mistheeria (keyboards). I highly recommend this CD as it was one of those records that you find difficult to turn off. It’s not always easy to support a popular group members solo efforts but I found myself hoping that we could see some live gigs to hear this music performed live. Fans should also know that Dickinson has released re-mastered and expanded editions of his back catalog with bonus tracks, demo recordings and extended liner notes. Put this on your list with the remastered “Chemical Wedding”.

Track Listing:
1. Mars Within (Intro)
2. Abduction
3. Soul Intruders
4. Kill Devil Hill
5. Navigate The Seas Of The Sun
6. River Of No Return
7. Power Of The Sun
8. Devil On A Hog
9. Believil
10. A Tyranny Of Souls

Official Web site: www.BruceDickinson.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.