“Tools Of Destruction” by Thunderstone

Artist: Thunderstone
Title: “Tools Of Destruction”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 4/18/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 7.5/10

Thunderstone not only has a fantastic name but also a very solid stand on the Heavy Metal genre. Their sophomore release of “Tools Of Destruction” on Nuclear Blast Records really has some key moments to it. Hailing from Finland a Country that seems to be responsible for most of the worlds Power Metal these days; the group takes a slightly different direction with their music. They did not follow the gruff vocals and intensity of Children Of Bodom or the Operatic Adventures of Nightwish and instead deliver a “Traditionally” styled opus that is full of clean vocals on top of truly solid guitars and drums. There is a fair amount of technical precision displayed in such tunes as “The Last Song” which has a nice keyboard riffs over an impressive double-bass drum run and it just draws you into it. When the song “Without Wings” plays you almost feel like you are listening to Sonata Arctica since it could pass for one of this bands tracks. I felt this record was almost like a safe introduction to the world of Power Metal music and I mean this in the most positive way because this was very user Friendly stuff. Great hooks with a nice vocal mix and easy to remember tunes overall. I think this must have been hard on the band to decide which avenue to follow because their fellow Countrymen have achieved amazing success by testing the limits of the Metal genre and instead Thunderstone decide to stick with a more conventional delivery.

The lineup is Pasi Rantanen – vocals, Nino Laurenne – guitars & backing vocals, Kari Tornack – keyboards, Titus Hjelm – bass & backing vocals, Mirka Rantanen – drums. Each member really seems to show their level of talent on the CD and while I don’t have their first release “The Burning” (also on Nuclear Blast Records) it is most probably a lot more of this type of stuff. Either way I shall be looking into it. There are some other tracks that stood out for me, and “Liquid Of The Kings” is one as well as the slow and trudging “Welcome To The Real”. I found that the more I listened to this CD the more that I felt that Century Media’s Nocturnal Rites are a perfect companion band to this one. Fans of Whitesnake and Dio and even Deep Purple will appreciate this release. It’s a high recommendation for those seeking a familiar style brought to you by a new face. Check it out.

Track List:
1. Tool Of The Devil
2. Without Wings
3. Liquid Of The Kings
4. I Will Come Again
5. Welcome To The Real
6. The Last Song
7. Another Time
8. Feed The Fire
9. Weight Of The World
10. Land Of Innocence

Official Web site: www.Thunderstone.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.