“Thunder Seven” (remaster) by Triumph

Artist: Triumph
Title: “Thunder Seven” – Remastered
Label: TML Entertainment
Release Date: 11/9/2004
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

As I listened to the remastered CD for Triumph’s “Thunder Seven” I was instantly reminded of the tour they did to support it. In 1984 I had attended a performance of this show and The “Thunder Seven” tour was a great memory for me to recall. Not only was it to be a tremendous night of music which featured Mountain and Loudness on the bill, but it would also be the first time that I ever saw this Canadian Import. It was truly a great evening of music from some of Rocks finest artisans. When “Thunder Seven” was released Triumph was on top of their game and the consistent radio play of songs like “Spellbound” and “Follow Your Heart” gave strength to this even more. Rock radio was in full command of things at this time and as a result people who had never heard of these Progressive Rock Kings were hearing them on the air in regular rotations. Nowadays classic Rock is limited to one or two stations and you will be lucky to ever hear Triumph. Today you seldom see Rock bands making an impact as great as Triumph did in their day. This day and age is more about quick numbers and easy output, true talent often takes some searching. With this release we find some of the best guitar work and singing by Rik Emmet. Gil Moore proves that drummers can deliver not only powerful playing but also be great singers. Mike Levine as always provides his most solid bass work and backing vocals.

This CD is perhaps my favorite in the Triumph catalog and I think that TML Entertainment has done a great job on the remastering of them. Songs like the ones I mention above as well as “Time Goes By” and “Rock Out, Roll On” come to life ever more with the re-issue. Similar to the other editions in the set this piece includes all of the album art and song lyrics. No bonus tracks are included which is a little on the disappointing side. This is the perfect CD to get if you are curious about Triumph and wish to own one of their best releases. It will also allow you to replace that tired and long worn out Vinyl. I know I did.

Track Listing:
1. Spellbound
2. Rock Out, Roll On
3. Cool Down
4. Follow Your Heart
5. Time Goes By
6. Midsummer’s Daydream (instrumental)
7. Time Canon
8. Killing Time
9. Stranger In A Strange Land
10. Little Boy Blues (instrumental)

Official Website: www.triumphmusic.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.