“The Origin Of The Feces” by Type O Negative

Artist: Type-O-Negative
Title: “The Origin Of The Feces”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 5/17/1994
Genre: Gothic Metal
Rating: 8/10

Type-O-Negative’s second album fooled a lot of people at first by seeming to be a live recording. It started off with the audience chants of “You Suck” to lead singer/bassist Steele berating them as he was apt to do in such a setting. The assorted responses between songs and the delivery really gave the appearance of a very clean live recording. Instead this was a mock live album that featured a large amount of re-worked material from the first album “Slow, Deep & Hard”. The first album had a rushed production to it and some of the tunes were too long and as result will find new life on this album. “IKYFSE” sounds a lot more powerful and heavy here and is a bit more condensed. Other sections of the first album are morphed to some effect in “Gravity”, “Pain” and “Kill You Tonight” and for the context of the recording I felt that worked that much better. New songs such as “Are You Afraid” (with its U2 meets Munster’s feel) and “Hey Pete” (a re-hashed Jimi Hendrix song) are placed between the older material making this a fresh piece of work rather than a cleaner repeat. A cover of Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid” is the bonus track on this re-release of the original album which was pulled because of its cover.

The original release cover was quickly lambasted when people discovered that it was a not too subtle shot of a behind. The new version also provides a few more pages of artwork, photos and liner notes. Overall this is a good album and a great way to enjoy the earlier work of Type-O-Negative and its players (Peter Steele – bass/vocals, Ken Hickey – guitars, Josh Silver – keyboards & Sal Abruscato – drums). Abruscato leaves the group after this album and joins Life Of Agony. There are some killer moments present and is bound to appeal to not only Metal fans but the growing Gothic Metal movement.

Track Listing:
1. I Know You’re Fucking Someone Else
2. Are You Afraid
3. Gravity
4. Pain
5. Kill You Tonight
6. Hey Pete
7. Kill You Tonight (reprise)
8. Paranoid

Official Web site: www.typeonegative.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.