“The Open Door” by Evanescence

Artist: Evanescence
Title: “The Open Door”
Label: Wind-Up Records
Release Date: 10/3/2006
Genre: Gothic Rock
Rating: 4/5

Exploding on to the scene like a dynamo, Evanescence would find themselves a chart-topping artist with their major debut “Fallen”. It was an album that was that was loaded with powerful levels of alternative Hard Rock and would make singer Amy Lee a superstar. Turmoil of the time led to the split of band co-founder Ben Moody, who also was a large contributor in terms of the song-writing success they found. Going forward the question would be could Amy follow up the blockbuster record without his involvement. The answer would be yes she could, and on “The Open Door”, she adventures forward – extending the levels of emotion used in the content more than she ever did on her previous songs. The past couple of turbulent years in the band and singers life would lead to their documentation in song and that alone makes this purer in its essence and overall meaning as an album. The listener will find that the new recording leans a lot heavier on the Gothic side than “Fallen” had done and there are moments on the release that are quite heavy. It begins with “Sweet Sacrifice”, a track where Amy shows that the group has not lost any of their edge in the way they do things and instantly reminds the listener that they rock. Comparing tracks from the last release, this number could stand as the new albums “Bring Me To Life”. “Call Me When Your Sober” is perhaps the most important track to the singer as she sings of moving on from the demons that were the cause of her last relationships end. Her new song-writing partner would be Terry Balsamo, and together a new chapter is forged and is right on target. As a group, they have a lot to stand up against with their hit maker always looking at them, and they succeed in making the new album special with blends of the Classical on tracks such as “Lacrymosa”. As one of the better tracks, it makes use of strings and a dramatic choir that works quite well. The three year absence from a studio album seems to have worked out well for the group on “Lithium”, an important tune that advises choosing to feel as opposed to remaining numb from life’s trials. The digipak release includes great artwork and interior design and photos. It truly adds to the experience of enjoying the album.

The band is spot on for the release and features Balsamo (guitar), John LeCompt (guitar), and Rocky Gray (drums) while Amy handles vocals and also some wonderful piano on some tracks. The release, while musically strong is still too early to determine if this recording will stand up to the level of acclaim that its predecessor provided them. I can safely report that it’s been met with a largely positive response as the fan base has truly missed Lee’s presence. It is an album that shows the group maturing musically and in their themes and most important it showcases the fact that one can move on and forward in life – that’s an important lesson to find. Life is meant to be lived so approach every moment as an “Open Door”.

Song Listing:
1. Sweet Sacrifice
2. Call Me When You’re Sober
3. Weight Of The World
4. Lithium
5. Cloud Nine
6. Snow White Queen
7. Lacrymosa
8. Like You
9. Lose Control
10. The Only One
11. Your Star
12. All That I’m Living for
13. Good Enough

Official Web site: www.evanescence.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.