“The Mechanical Hand” by HORSE The Band

Artist: HORSE The Band
Title: “The Mechanical Hand”
Label: Combat Records/Koch
Release: 9/20/2005
Genre: Post Hardcore / Screamo
Rating: 3/10

Hailing from Los Angeles, HORSE The Band releases their album, The Mechanical Hand, on the classic label Combat Records. Koch Records relaunched the label late in 2005. This five piece consists of Nathan Winneke (vocals), David Isen (guitar), Erik Engstrom (keyboards), Eli Green (drums) and Dash Arkenstone (bass). This album was produced by Matt Boyles who produced albums from bands like the Murder City Devils, Mastodon and Norma Jean. HORSE The Band describes themselves as “Nintendocore” however with one listen of this album there is no way you can catagorize this into one genre, it’s pure chaos.

From start to finish it’s one unpredictable rhythm after another. The sound is a mix of guitars, loud, screaming vocals, over some very oddly placed keyboards. “Manateen” takes a break from the hardcore sounds of this album to bring you an almost dance vibe, as if they are trying to sound like an Orgy/Nine Inch Nails techno dance track. An odd track to throw into the mix, but this band is anything but ordinary. The vocals though done in traditional screaming, hard, raw style aren’t put together very well, taking away from the only redeeming qualities that would save this band. There are some alright guitar parts and a few interesting arrangements, but that‘s it. “Heroes Die” quite possibly was the only enjoyable tune, and that was instrumental. Without the screeching vocals you can actually hear the music and take it for what it is, rehashed hyper rock chaos with keyboards.

Not too impressive, but a work in progress, you could say. Give HORSE The Band a little time to compose, change up the way the vocals are laid down, organize the keyboard placement, or just throw in the towel.

Track Listing:
1. Birdo
2. A Million Exploding Suns
3. Manateen
4. House Of Boo
5. Heroes Die
6. Softer Sounds
7. Octopus On Fire
8. Soaring Quails
9. Taken By Vultures
10. A Rusty Globe
11. Sand
12. Lord Gold Throneroom
13. The Black Hole

Official Website: http://www.horsetheband.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.