“The Live Beast” by Paul DiAnno

Artist: Paul DiAnno
Title: “The Live Beast”
Label: Spitfire Records
Release Date: 1/16/2001
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3/5

Several months prior to this release, Spitfire Records issued a live CD from Paul DiAnno and his band recorded at The Whisky A Go-Go in Hollywood. If you are a Metal fan and you don’t know the name immediately then you need to switch genres as DiAnno was the original lead singer for the British juggernauts Iron Maiden. That CD featured almost a handful of classic Maiden songs with the larger focus being on Paul’s solo material. He didn’t have bad stuff but its not a secret to know what the world at large really wants to hear him sing. On “The Live Beast” fans get exactly what the original screamers was best known for and had been demanding be released in some fashion for them to enjoy on stereos everywhere. I was very happy to find this one while shopping one day and I think that every Maiden fan needs to focus their attention on it since it was that enjoyable. From beginning to end this is Iron Maiden classic after classic from the first two albums when Paul fronted the group. The two singers were like night and day from each other with Paul being a little deeper in overall tone and vocal style while Dickinson is a glass-breaking screamer at times. Dickinson showed what singers can become if the aspiration is high enough while Paul’s voice came off more as something that anyone could do if they put their mind to it. His normal register and obvious care for his vocal chords made the songs sound very close to the originals even decades later.

Paul does do one or two Dark Metal growls and I guess it goes to show that even new stuff can influence the founders of Metal past. The band plays well, but is not Maiden by a long shot. This is merely a good way to enjoy DiAnno once again and remember how pure and powerful the first shot of Iron Maiden music was to you when you got to listen to it. This is also a treat for younger Metal fans who need some education on the past. If you are one of these folks, you need to own the Maiden music no matter what genre you find yourself preferring now. It’s that relevant – to this very day.

Track Listing:
1. Wrathchild
2. Killers
3. Prowler
4. Murders In The Rue Morgue
5. Women In Uniform
6. Remember Tomorrow
7. Sanctuary
8. Running Free
9. Phantom Of The Opera
10. Iron Maiden

Official Website: www.pauldianno.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.