“The Last Supper: Live At Hammerstein Ballroom” by Coheed and Cambria

Artist: Coheed & Cambria
Title: “The Last Supper: Live At Hammerstein Ballroom”
Label: Sony Music
Release Date: 10/31/2006
Genre: Melodic Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

The new DVD from Coheed & Cambria’s is a great way to catch up on what you might have been missing from this band for it seems that they are growing in popularity rapidly. They are also reaching fans of all ages with their interesting blend of Melodic and slightly Progressive Hard Rock as opposed to finding themselves locked into one key demographic. In May of 2006, the group performed to a sold-out Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City and now, only five months later, deliver a DVD of this show which allows those that missed out to enjoy it while those who attended are able to relive it once again. Its admirable since so many bands take forever to release their live DVD’s and yet here is C&C who prove that this can be done if you want to. This modern Rock group led by Claudio Sanchez (vocals/guitar) is sometimes compared to bands like Rush and Dream Theater based on their being more technically proficient than many of the current mainstream bands that are heaped upon us. Claudio’s voice is high in register and this leads to the Geddy Lee reference I suppose. Personally, I disagree with the two comparisons but one can definitely see where they come from when watching this DVD. One also can see that the band truly can play as while Claudio does his thing both drummer Josh Eppard and lead guitarist Travis Steever are ripping it up as Michael Todd holds it all together. The players are good but no Neil Peart or Alex Leifson. This makes them much more interesting and is clearly something that is a refreshing change for the younger fan base who must deal with the levels of sludge tossed at them by some of the music providers of today.

It’s inspiring to see bands focusing on more on the musicianship and creativity than their peers for it allows them to remain relevant in a time where too many bands are forgettable. In addition to the rich selection of their career highlights the DVD also lets you enjoy the bands stellar light show – there are some great camera angles and dramatics to enjoy as the show plays out but most of this is viewed from a front row vantage point. As someone who never really paid attention to the band, I was finding myself jotting down numbers that appealed to me most so I might dig deeper into their recorded catalog. Standout tracks like “The Suffering” and “Ten Speed” are bound to impress anyone. The bonus features are a few of the bands videos as fan interviews and band member commentary. Most of the fans seemed young so it was cool to see them appreciating a semi-Progressive level group and this can only help them going forward musically. Much of Coheed & Cambrias music is based on Science Fiction themes and that makes them a little more intriguing and worth checking out. This was a fun DVD to watch.

Song Listing:
1. In Keeping Secrets Of Silent Earth: 3
2. Ten Speed (Of God’s Blood And Burial)
3. Blood Red Summer
4. The Crowing
5. Wake Up
6. Delerium Trigger
7. A Favor House Atlantic
8. The Suffering
9. Everything Evil
10. Welcome Home
11. The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut

Official Web site: www.coheedandcambria.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.