“The Great Filter” by Tub Ring

Artist: Tub Ring
Title: “The Great Filter”
Label: The End Records
Release Date: 3/2007
Genre: Experimental Rock
Rating: 4/5

The Great Filter, LOL, I don’t think so – there’s no filtering at work on the mass of musical influences that proliferate this release by Tub Ring, their first on The End Records. Yet for all the sonic pastiche at work here the Chicago outfit manages to produce a completely unique experience with superb playing, cool songs and tongues planted firmly in their cheeks. In short, “The Great Filter” is great FUN, and an album that gets the job done “old school style” in under 45 minutes leaving you plenty of time to go back and hear it again, and you will want to hear it again.

On stage Tub Ring come off like the menacing bowling team that unfortunately plays the lane right next to yours. They’re an aberrant bunch of 21st Century greasers who very purposefully disturb the peace and might even spill a can of Schlitz on your girlfriend. Even so, when push comes to shove and switchblades are triggered they reveal combs not stilettos. After a few sheepish grins and a pat on the back the next round is on them. They’ll be your friends for life.

This is not to suggest that Tub Ring are dilettantes or posers. In the midst of all the equipment climbing, keyboard fornication, and mayhem that is part of their stage act, these guys are really tight and talented musicians. They have to be, you can’t subvert so many genres to your own perverse will unless you’re really good at playing them well in the first place.

Production on “The Great Filter” is clean and tight in deference to the wealth of sounds simultaneously at work. While it does take the stage ruckus back a smidgen to give the lyrics and melodic bits a fair chance the music’s power is not diminished. When you decide to dime this puppy it delivers.

So if you are up for a mind opening trip to a country were Edith Piaf propositions Fugazi, Bertolt Brecht writes lyrics for Black Sabbath, and Beethoven scores Beastie Boys songs, grab yourself a copy of “The Great Filter” and head bang (and smile) all the way there.

Track Listing:
1. Friends and Enemies
2. The Charasmatic Smile
3. Seven Exodus
4. Get Help (NOW!)
5. When the Crash Happened
6. Killers in Love
7. No One Wants to Play
8. Requiem for a Robot
9. Life In Transition
10. Glass Companion
11. Making No Sound (At All)
12. The Truth
13. Wrong Kind of Message
14. My Job Here Is Done

Official Website: www.tubring.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.