“The Best Of Helix: Deep Cuts” by Helix

Artist: Helix
Title: “The Best Of Helix: Deep Cuts”
Label: EMI Music/Capitol Records
Release Date: 3/9/1999
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

Everytime I hear the band Helix I am pulled back in time to the music station U68 that I often watched during those Hard Rockin’ Eighties. This was the place where you could see Metal videos on a regular basis since MTV was not yet available everywhere, and since you could not always catch the broadcast clean – you often piled to someone’s house that could catch it. I liked it actually as there was always an interesting variety of bands to absorb and one of them that received regular rotation was Canada’s own Helix. It was a time where everyone had big hair and most people wore spandex as they visited the clubs where Hard Rock and Heavy Metal was a blossoming industry. Motley Crue and the sunset strip bands were becoming popular and while never really receiving any level of Stateside critical acclaim, Helix had a lot of fun stuff and were an energetic Hard Rock band. This CD is a great way to absorb some of the bands best music and find your memory jogged to when the industry was a lot less complex. Older listeners will remember some of these tracks fondly, such as the anthem “Rock You”, which was more a Heavy Metal Cheerleading call. Ballads were going on every jukebox and if you had a Hard Rock band you were expected to do one of these as well so Helix offered up “Deep Cuts The Knife”, which to this day remains one of my favored power ballads. They also had “Dream On” and no, I am not speaking of the Aerosmith version. It’s a song like this that makes one wonder how the band never reached a higher plateau in this region. Other selections of note on the disk are “Gimme Gimme Good Lovin’”, “Wild In The Streets”, and “The Kids Are All Shakin’”.

The members of the band during their heyday were Brian Vollmer (vocals), Paul Hackman (guitar), Daryl Gray (bass), Brent Doerner (guitar) and Greg Hinz (drums). It was a group that worked hard for the sound they put out and always the fans their all. Look into them sometime if you can as it’s a nice history lesson on how Hard Rock used to be.

Track Listing:
1. Heavy Metal Love
2. Don’t Get Mad Get Even
3. Rock You
4. When The Hammer Falls
5. Gimme Gimme Good Lovin’
6. It’s Too Late
7. Deep Cuts The Knife
8. The Kids Are All Shakin’
9. Wild In The Streets
10. Dream On
11. Women, Whiskey & Sin
12. Everybody Pays The Price
13. Give It To You
14. Good To The Last Drop

Official Website: www.planethelix.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.