“The Best Of Fear Factory” by Fear Factory

Artist: Fear Factory
Title: “The Best Of Fear Factory”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 9/11/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3/5

Celebrating the releases that came out under their banner, Roadrunner Records is releasing several Greatest Hits packages of artists that have accomplished great things for Metal and eventually moved on to other Labels. The Fear Factory early catalog falls under this description and as result, we have this compilation. Looking at it, I felt that it was more geared towards a new listener and not a die-hard who would probably have all of their earlier music by now. Given the current roster the label holds with bands such a younger Metal forces Trivium and the dynamic Dragonforce, the great thing would find those fans digging the early Fear Factory stuff and trying the older CD’s that are still currently available under the labels back catalog. These twelve tracks span from 1992-2001 and they feature the bands original guitarist Dino Cazares. It is a great “sampler plate” of Metal but with only the scant amount of songs will leave you wanting a bit more. Great moments are found in “Scapegoat” which is one of the group’s best songs and I always liked “Demanufacture”. A quirky but pretty close to the original cover version of Gary Numan’s “Cars” rocks and shows that even one of the most brutal vocalists (Burton C. Bell) can groove to the classic New Wave sound. From that segment in history, it was one of my favorite songs, so I loved hearing Fear Factory do it. Historical liner notes are present in the booklet, which is more a foldout, and there are limited photographs. Some will review this as “money-grabbing” products but in truth, it makes a nice teaser for their material and serves a purpose. Fear Factory are one of the most influential groups around based on their use of Technical Thrash Metal and Industrial elements before anyone else was doing it. Listeners are encouraged to investigate the bands history with this and their older releases as well as their latest effort “Transgression”.

Song Listing:
1. Martyr
2. Scapegoat
3. Scumgrief
4. Demanufacture
5. Self-Bias Resistor
6. Zero Signal
7. Replica
8. Shock
9. Edgecrusher
10. Resurrections
11. Cars
12. Linchpin

Official Web site: www.fearfactory.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.