“The Best Of” by Between The Buried and Me

Artist: Between The Buried and Me
Title: “The Best Of”
Label: Victory Records
Release Date: 3/29/2011
Genre: Progressive Metalcore
Rating: 3/5

It’s no secret that Between The Buried And Me have moved on from the Victory Records roster of artists and are now settled comfortably over at Metal Blade Records. Usually when dramatic changes like this happen for a band, the previous label dishes out one last release for the fans to get their hands on and we often find them being either a live concert recording or a comprehensive collection of the bands work that was done under their brand. With Between The Buried and Me we would find the latter being the case and while many “reviewers” are shitting on Victory Records with outcries of this being a “cash grab”, I maintain that such a release is entirely within their rights to give us as fans. In terms of its content the album touches upon the bands amazing “Colors” release and its subsequent live album from the tour along with “The Silent Circus” and “The Great Misdirect” but nothing seems to come from “The Anatomy Of” which was their album of covers and that is a shame since what I have heard sure sounded interesting. These selections are delivered across two CD’s while an accompanying DVD gives you some of the bands videos. The main and most glaring problem with the release is that Between The Buried and Me are not a band that one can sit and listen to one song of and get a general perspective about their capabilities. Yes the band manages to shine on their tracks but given their Progressive Metal nature and how their music adventures seamlessly from one tune to the next in almost a sequential pattern, it is really tricky to think that this can make anyone a new fan. Of course I could be wrong about this, and perhaps those who end up listening to the album will be inspired to purchase the full releases. I’d like to think that this is the case scenario. If it’s not, I suggest fans first look into the album “Colors” which was my own introduction to the group and an experience that found me becoming a supporter of their musical adventures going forward. I left my rating of the release in the middle ground of not great but also not terrible. Let’s discuss the DVD inclusion for a moment.

DVD: Moredecai (Music Video), Alaska (Music Video), Obfuscation (Music Video), Synesthesia (Colors: Companion Film).

*** I felt that it was nice to find a few of the bands official videos being included in the package as I had never seen them before. With no real video outlet for Metal bands out there these days like their used to be, one needs to generally scour YouTube.com for clips from the bands that they like. Yes we now live in a musical time where labels all have their own “Official Channels” that broadcast the bands that they have, but there is no more “accidental discovery” with songs. I remember watching the “Headbangers Ball” years ago and always heading to the record store the following day or so to investigate what I had seen on the program. Yes I said “record stores”, for you see those used to be rather prominent in number.

The packaging is interesting and while it might appear rather sterile and bland at the first glance, when you slide out the screen from the front and hold it over the various foldout segments inside you will see images and liner notes. That was clever, but if you didn’t know that it did this I fear that the albums mysteries will be lost as it sits on your shelf forever unexamined. Now that they are off of Victory Records I would love to see them release a full on collection of the recorded repertoire from Between The Buried and Me in a collectors box set with some expanded notes from what we have in their original booklets. If they did this and priced it accordingly it would be a win win situation for them and the bands fans for sure. Check this out but as I have already mentioned please do not make this your first go at the bands material because I don’t think this will win you over at all. This is more for the completest.

Track Listing:
1. Moredecai
2. Ad A Dglgmut
3. Aesthetic
4. Shevanel Take 2
5. Alaska
6. Selkies: The Endless Obession
7. All Bodies
8. Backwards Marathon
9. Foam Born A: The Backtracak
10. Foam Born B: The Decade Of Statues
11. Prequel To The Sequel
12. Virdian
13. White Walls
14. Mirrors
15. Obfuscation
16. Moredecai (Live)
17. Shevanel Cut A Flip (Live)
18. Backwards Marathon (Live)
19. Ad A Dglgmut (Live)
20. Selkies: The Endless Obession (Live)

Official Website: http://www.betweentheburiedandme.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.