“The Art of Rebellion: Live” by Behemoth

Artist: Behemoth
Title: “Live Eschaton: The Art Of Rebellion”
Label: Music Video Distributors
Release Date: 6/18/2002
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 7/10

If you are a follower of the goings on in the Death Metal genre then it is quite possible that you are already aware of the appeal and impact that the mighty Behemoth has had on it. The band is a touring machine that continually appeared as the support for such notable bands as King Diamond, Suffocation and most recently Morbid Angel. Those who attended any of the shows referenced know how powerful Behemoth is on stage and how they make the audience their own no matter who is headlining that night. This DVD filmed in 2000 in front of a studio audience in Krakow Poland is the perfect introduction for anyone who is choosing to brave the world of Behemoth, it is a journey worth taking if you like your Metal on the extreme side. The concert footage for me as a recent fan serves good as an origin point on the band for in 2005-2006 when I began to see them often it is a far more powerful presence and lineup than is depicted on the video. Front man Nergal is the mastermind of the group while Inferno provides levels of destruction that no drum kit should be subject too very often. Guitar is handled by Havoc and bass by Novy (the line up of 2006 finds Seth and the giant Orion on guitar and bass respectively). The ten performance pieces are good and you will recognize some songs from the recent shows if it has been your only exposure to the group. The spoken language is Polish as the band performs before a home audience masked in their signature corpse-paint. It is a crystal clear production and has a great sound but the audience seems a little bit dead. Perhaps it is because they were mesmerized or perhaps they were restricted from moving about, I only know the Behemoth show I attended found me fielding bodies from every direction I looked.

Bonus Features: A healthy amount of features makes up this DVD release and here is the rundown for information hungry readers. Two rare videos (Decade Of Therion & Chant For Eschaton 2000; Six rare audio tracks (Cursed Angel Of Doom, The Dark Triumph, Forgotten Empire Of Dark Witchcraft, Forgotten Cult Of Aldaron, Dragon’s Lair, With Spell Of Inferno); Discrocraphy; Biography and a full-length interview with leader Nergal. That’s the only downside; the interview is in Polish so call a friend who can translate for you since there are no subtitles to read along with.

Behemoth has been around for almost 15 years by my estimation and each time I see them show a higher amount of dominance over the Metal scene. It is time for you to join the ranks of those who fall under their watch. After you watch this DVD be sure to get a copy of “Demigod”, the CD is a Death Metal masterpiece and will leave you begging for more.

Track List:
1. Decade Of Oepion
2. LAM
3. Satan’s Sword
4. From The Pagan Vastlands
5. Driven By The Five Winged Star
6. The Entrance To The Spheres Of Mars
7. Starspawn
8. Carnage
9. Chant For Eschaton 2000
10. Pure Evil & Hate

Official Web site: www.behemoth.pl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.