“The Art Of Live” by Queensryche

Artist: Queensyche
Title: “The Art Of Live”
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 6/8/2004
Genre: Progressive Metal
Rating: 6/10

It is seldom that I am unimpressed with a DVD that gets released by Queensryche but that was the case when I began to watch the release “The Art Of Live”. Perhaps I was spoiled by the releases “Live Evolution” or “Operation: Livecrime” DVD releases or perhaps this was just so lacking that it did not do much more than disappoint. Queensryche is one of the most exciting of the Progressive Metal bands to have existed but this live DVD is so toned down and unlive in its overall sound that you might has well watch a filmed and scripted video. The movie is shot entirely in black and white and while it looks cool for a little while I would have preferred to see some color. The light show that the group uses during their performances is lost entirely as a result of this filming method. Sound wise it seems to have been channeled right out of the soundboard and there is very little audience reaction heard. It’s practically a whisper and for a recording of a live show you want a little more on that end when possible. The band sounds top notch in their musicianship as they normally do but this recording method makes them sound more canned than I would have preferred.

The song selection was okay on this release and a number of tracks are missing from the set. This seems to have been recorded from the tour with Dream Theater which supported the “Tribe” CD. The tracks missing are clearly from the bands earliest years but those were featured on the “Live: Evolution” release and it avoids duplication too soon between the products by leaving them out. There is a fair amount of “Tribe” songs which were co-written by former member Chris DeGarmo. The long time Queensryche fan in me expected these tracks to be better as a result of this input but they are merely ok. The membership roster on this DVD has changed from the last one with Mike Stone replacing Kelly Cray on guitar. Everyone else is the same core of original Queensryche band members as DeGarmo did not return to tour for the record he helped to create. Of all the songs featured I expected to like the covers they included as well, but “Comfortably Numb” was just too stiff for my liking. I did enjoy “Won’t Get Fooled Again” as it featured everyone in Dream Theater with them and is just a big sounding tune no matter how the recording is done.

Bonus Features:
The features on this DVD are on the limited side with only a photo gallery, three interviews and behind the scenes footage. Releases like this could have included some extra backstage bantering or set up stuff to add to the appeal. With their performances with Dream Theater I took this as a missed opportunity. Perhaps even videos shot for the album “Tribe” which this show supported. Alas that was not considered.

Overall, this is a DVD that is more for the diehard Queensryche fan who must have every piece of their work. The casual fan is better served by looking into the other two referenced DVD’s before giving this one a shot. The DVD Medium offers so much in the way of sound and picture and this release made sure to give you neither.

Song Listing:
1. Tribe
2. Sign Of The Times
3. Open
4. Losing Myself
5. Desert Dance
6. The Great Divide
7. Rhythm Of Hope
8. My Global Mind
9. Roads To Madness
10. Della Brown
11. Breaking The Silence
12. The Needle Lies
13. Best I Can
14. Comfortably Numb
15. Won’t Get Fooled Again

Official Website: www.queensryche.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.