“Temple Of Shadows” by Angra

Artist: Angra
Title: “Temple Of Shadows”
Label: SPV Records
Release Date: 1/11/2005
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Rating: 8.5/10

Metal notables Angra have returned with a CD that kicks you in the teeth right off the bat. Starting with a brief orchestration, you are quickly drawn into the metal thunder that is the track “Spread Your Fire”. I admit I played this one at top volume at least 4 times in a row before I let the rest of the CD complete. Hailing from Portugal, this quintet does not do anything less that pull out all the stops for you on this entitled “Temple Of Shadows”. As I mentioned, the track “Spread Your Fire” is nothing short of a blistering technical masterpiece. There is also a grand chorus that makes one feel like raising flagons of beer into the air when it plays. Clearly this is the band that inspires the likes of “Heavenly” and “Dragonforce” for not only is an amazing amount of speed delivered during the tune, but there is no loss of technical ability throughout. We often find that when there is so much speed that the skill suffers as a result. Not so in the case of Angra. Some of the tracks made me site back as a musician and try and figure how they managed to play it with such a fluidity. Since not all Prog fans are Power Metal fans, I say that this offers quite the treat for the Prog fan as well as the Metal fan.

“Wishing Well” is a must for those who love the ever present heavy ballad. It is done quite well, and fits into the context of the story they are lining out. According to press copy, they CD tells the tale of the Shadow Hunter, a Soldier from the Crusades. The group also manages to mix some lush orchestrations into some of the tracks as well as some ethnic flavors. This allows this CD to hold a level of difference in a time were Power Metal is finding itself a little too repetitive. In addition to the differences used in the music, the voice of Edu is both warm and full of feeling yet at times strikes like a lightning bolt through the night sky.

The lineup consists of Edu Falaschi (vocals), Kiko Loureiro (Guitars), Rafael Bittencourt (Guitars), Felipe Andreoli (Bass) and Aqualis Priester (Drums). Production was handled by Dennis Ward (who took his off time from his band Pink Cream 69 to do this record). The list of favorites for me is actually most of the CD, as I enjoyed it that much. Most specifically were “Spread Your Fire”, “Temple Of Hate”, “Winds Of Destination” and pretty much anything where Aqualis, Kiko, and Rafael are the most busy on their instruments. For those who have yet to hear of this band (as it is apt to happen with the European scene here in the States) I can only recommend you visit this CD. If this band comes to the USA as a fan of Progressive and Power Metal you cannot risk passing this up. I look forward to their arrival.

Track Listing:
1. Deus Le Volt
2. Spread Your Fire
3. Angels And Demons
4. Waiting Silence
5. Wishing Well
6. Temple Of Hate
7. Shadow Hunter
8. No Pain For The Dead
9. Winds Of Destination
10. Sprouts Of Time
11. Morning Star
12. Late Redemption
13. Deus Le Volt (orchestra)

Official Website: www.angra.net

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.