“Tell The World: The Very Best Of Ratt” by Ratt

Artist: Ratt
Title: “Tell The World: The Very Best Of Ratt”
Label: Rhino Entertainment
Release Date: 8/21/2007
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

Following in an almost hot on the heels pace of their DVD release “Ratt: Videos From The Cellar: The Atlantic Years” came “Tell The World: The Very Best Of Ratt” – a twenty song greatest hits compilation that will surely give you something tasty to sink your teeth into. I had to admit that I always liked the early material from Ratt because even though they were often lumped into the Glam Rock movement of the eighties, there was just something about their level of guitar work and overall melody that made them so much more appealing than 80% of the other bands that came out around that time. The release covers the bands Atlantic Records years and as result omits everything from their debut EP which in some sense is a crying shame since at least two of those numbers are worthy of placement here. I am speaking of course about the stellar “You Think You’re Tough” which even had an early video in the infancy years of the MTV generation. Also missing is this very albums title track of “Tell The World” and it made me wonder who thought that was a good idea. Fans of the band who already own the long ago released collection called “Ratt & Roll 8191” should plan on keeping that in their collection a little longer since there are tracks presented there but not here. Now back to this particular collection because despite these couple of concerns it is a really solid one that is worth owning. Add to this the fact that all tracks are remastered and as result are a lot “bigger” than we first heard them on the individual CD’s that some of us have in our music libraries.

It seems that everything I expected from their first full length album is here and that was good because I always felt that “Out Of The Cellar” had some amazing tunes but also had some songs that I felt were “meh”. Leaving those out for the highlights was a bonus point for this collection. When the band released “Invasion Of Your Privacy” I had switched over to more of the casual fan and as result only the tracks presented here were of my interest and the same applied to the rest of the catalog that we find on “Tell The World”. I would have to say that from beginning to end that this becomes one of the better compilations based on its ability to give you such a solid overview of the bands work during their key years. Warren DeMartini and Robin Crosby were a great guitar duo and the bass of Juan Crouchier rumbled well over the steady backbeat of Bobby Blotzer as singer Stephen Pearcy crooned away. He always had one of the more unique voices for this kind of Rock and it stood out and made their songs instantly recognizable. If you are a fan of the eighties bands and found yourself as being someone who never really got a proper education in what Ratt was all about then this CD release is perfect for you since it is rather comprehensive and gives you twenty songs that span seven full albums from the group. I had to say that when I looked back on it, that every track that I ever enjoyed from them was here with the exception of the two mentioned earlier in the piece but since their EP is omitted in full there is no point arguing about it. They include a booklet that sadly only gives you two group photos but there is a two page commentary from a music journalist and then what I felt was an awesome inclusion in a track by track synopsis from guitarist Warren DeMartini and singer Stephen Pearcy. Who better to give you the inside scoop about their tunes than the guys themselves. Check this one out if you are looking to once again enjoy one of the standout bands of the Hair Metal 80’s. Ratt still performs and records in 2010 but has a number of different members joining three of the original lineup.

Track Listing:
1. Dangerous But Worth The Risk
2. Back For More
3. Lovin’ You’s A Dirty Job
4. Nobody Rides For Free
5. Heads I Win, Tails You Lose
6. You’re In Love
7. City To City
8. Body Talk
9. Way Cool Jr.
10. Round And Round
11. Lay It Down
12. I Want A Woman
13. Dance
14. Wanted Man
15. Slip Of The Lip
16. Shame Shame Shame
17. Lack Of Communication
18. Over The Edge
19. Steel River
20. Way Cool Jr. (MTV Unplugged)

Official Website: http://www.therattpack.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.