Tag Archives: eisner awards

The Full 2017 Eisner Award Nominations

Last summer, I began to include the winners of the esteemed Eisner Awards to the context of our Comic Book narratives because the industry is something that we really stand behind. The Eisner is pretty close to the equivalent of The Oscars for the comic book industry and the panel of judges changes from year to year and is made up of a wide assortment of comics types and is selected by a committee. Fans don’t have any say in this voting process so if the most purchased limited series is a Batman one and its not nominated, there is nothing fans can do about it. Well, outside of screaming on the Facebook page or assorted other social networks but I digress. The other day, the nominees for the 2017 awards were unveiled and I am sharing them with you below.

Best Short Story:
“The Comics Wedding of the Century,” by Simon Hanselmann, in We Told You So: Comics as Art (Fantagraphics)
“The Dark Nothing,” by Jordan Crane, in Uptight #5 (Fantagraphics)
“Good Boy,” by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC)
“Monday,” by W. Maxwell Prince and John Amor, in One Week in the Library (Image)
“Mostly Saturn,” by Michael DeForge, in Island Magazine #8 (Image)
“Shrine of the Monkey God!” by Kim Deitch, in Kramers Ergot 9 (Fantagraphics)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Babybel Wax Bodysuit,by Eric Kostiuk Williams (Retrofit/Big Planet)
Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In,by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)
Blammo #9, by Noah Van Sciver (Kilgore Books)
Criminal 10th Anniversary Special,by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
Sir Alfred #3, by Tim Hensley (Pigeon Press)
Your Black Friend, by Ben Passmore (Silver Sprocket)

Best Continuing Series:
Astro City,by Kurt Busiek and Brent Anderson (Vertigo/DC)
Kill or Be Killed, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
The Mighty Thor,by Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman (Marvel)
Paper Girls, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang (Image)
Saga,by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Limited Series:
Archangel,by William Gibson, Michael St. John Smith, Butch Guice, and Tom Palmer (IDW)
Briggs Land,by Brian Wood and Mack Chater (Dark Horse)
Han Solo, by Marjorie Liu and Mark Brooks (Marvel)
Kim and Kim,by Magdalene Visaggio and Eva Cabrera (Black Mask)
The Vision,by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel)
We Stand on Guard,by Brian K. Vaughan and Steve Skroce (Image)
Continue reading The Full 2017 Eisner Award Nominations

The Full 2016 Eisner Award Winners

I’ve been doing posts about the comic book industry since I first launched “PiercingMetal Musings” which was originally The Official Blog of PiercingMetal.com back in 2009. Since then a lot has changed for our outlet and now some two years after the integration of that blog into the core content of the website, our comic book posts are happening more than ever. In addition to the monthly solicitations notices, I’m showcasing variant covers, special edition re-issues and alerts on top of the increasing comic book reviews. Simply put, we remain ardent fans of the medium and enjoy showcasing the coolest of the cool for our Heavy Music readership. With all of these posts taken into consideration, I felt that it was high time to support the illustrious Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards or “The Eisner Awards” as its commonly known. Below you will find all of the nominees and the winners for this years awards that were given out a couple of days ago at the Comic Con International: San Diego. I’ve marked them in bold and added the word “WINNER” at the close in case you are having the narrative read to you. Let’s look.

Best Short Story:
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine, in Optic Nerve #14 (Drawn & Quarterly) – WINNER
“Black Death in America,” by Tom King and John Paul Leon, in Vertigo Quarterly: Black (Vertigo/DC)
“Hand Me Down,” by Kristyna Baczynski, in 24 x 7 (Fanfare Presents)
“It’s Going to Be Okay,” by Matthew Inman, in The Oatmeal, http://theoatmeal.com/comics/plane
“Lion and Mouse,” by R. Sikoryak, in Fable Comics (First Second)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Silver Surfer #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel) – WINNER
A Blanket of Butterflies, by Richard Van Camp and Scott B. Henderson (HighWater Press)
I Love This Part, by Tillie Walden (Avery Hill)
Mowgli’s Mirror, by Olivier Schrauwen (Retrofit/Big Planet)
Pope Hats #4, by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse)

Best Continuing Series:
Southern Bastards, by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour (Image) – WINNER
Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
Giant Days, by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, and Max Serin (BOOM! Studios/BOOM! Box)
Invincible, by Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley, and Cliff Rathburn (Image/Skybound)
Silver Surfer, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel)

Best Limited Series:
The Fade Out, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image) – WINNER
Chrononauts, by Mark Millar and Sean Murphy (Image)
Lady Killer, by Joëlle Jones and Jamie S. Rich (Dark Horse)
Minimum Wage: So Many Bad Decisions, by Bob Fingerman (Image)
The Spire, by Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely (BOOM! Studios)
Continue reading The Full 2016 Eisner Award Winners