Tag Archives: eisner award winners

Announcing The Full 2019 Eisner Award Winners

I hope you’ve been enjoying all of the items from this years Comic Con International: San Diego because its been a blast calling all of these things to your attention. This event is one that really finds me pushing the content envelope of our Pop Culture focuses with the occasional other category as its suitable. So a few months ago I lined out the nominees for the vaunted Will Eisner Comic Book Industry Awards and if you missed that just click HERE to review. The winners were announced the other day and I’ve only listed those names and not the ones that they beat out for the honor. Take a look and we can catch up again at the close.

eisner awards logo

Best Short Story:
“The Talk of the Saints,” by Tom King and Jason Fabok, in Swamp Thing Winter Special (DC)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man No. 310, by Chip Zdarsky (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series:
Giant Days, by John Allison, Max Sarin and Julia Madrigal (BOOM! Box)
Continue reading Announcing The Full 2019 Eisner Award Winners

The Full 2018 Eisner Award Winners

Back in April I lined out the nominations for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards which as you know by now are generally referred to as “The Eisner Awards”. During the Comic Con International: San Diego the winners were announced and I am presenting them to you down below. This time around I’ve decided to leave off the other nominees but if you feel that you’d like to give them a once over for good measure you can just click THIS LINK for that initial posting. Let’s take a look at the winners.

Best Short Story:
”A Life in Comics: The Graphic Adventures of Karen Green,” by Nick Sousanis, in Columbia Magazine(Summer 2017)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Hellboy: Krampusnacht, by Mike Mignola and Adam Hughes (Dark Horse)

Best Continuing Series:
Monstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Limited Series:
Black Panther: World of Wakanda, by Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates and Alitha E. Martinez (Marvel)

Best New Series:
Black Bolt, by Saladin Ahmed and Christian Ward (Marvel)
Continue reading The Full 2018 Eisner Award Winners

The Full 2017 Eisner Award Winners

It was only a few short months ago that I lined out all of the nominees for the 2017 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards or The Eisner Awards as they are referred to most of the time. Now it’s time to celebrate the winners of this honor and to keep you informed I’ve bolded and italicized the winning parties and added the word “WINNER” to the end in case your using a reader on the website. Here we go.

Best Short Story:
“The Comics Wedding of the Century,” by Simon Hanselmann, in We Told You So: Comics as Art (Fantagraphics)
“The Dark Nothing,” by Jordan Crane, in Uptight #5 (Fantagraphics)
“Good Boy,” by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC) – WINNER
“Monday,” by W. Maxwell Prince and John Amor, in One Week in the Library (Image)
“Mostly Saturn,” by Michael DeForge, in Island Magazine #8 (Image)
“Shrine of the Monkey God!” by Kim Deitch, in Kramers Ergot 9 (Fantagraphics)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Babybel Wax Bodysuit,by Eric Kostiuk Williams (Retrofit/Big Planet)
Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In,by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse) – WINNER
Blammo#9, by Noah Van Sciver (Kilgore Books)
Criminal 10th Anniversary Special,by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
Sir Alfred#3, by Tim Hensley (Pigeon Press)
Your Black Friend, by Ben Passmore (Silver Sprocket)

Best Continuing Series:
Astro City,by Kurt Busiek and Brent Anderson (Vertigo/DC)
Kill or Be Killed, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
The Mighty Thor,by Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman (Marvel)
Paper Girls, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang (Image)
Saga,by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)V – WINNER

Best Limited Series:
Archangel,by William Gibson, Michael St. John Smith, Butch Guice, and Tom Palmer (IDW)
Briggs Land,by Brian Wood and Mack Chater (Dark Horse)
Han Solo, by Marjorie Liu and Mark Brooks (Marvel)
Kim and Kim,by Magdalene Visaggio and Eva Cabrera (Black Mask)
The Vision,by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel) – WINNER
We Stand on Guard,by Brian K. Vaughan and Steve Skroce (Image)
Continue reading The Full 2017 Eisner Award Winners

The Full 2016 Eisner Award Winners

I’ve been doing posts about the comic book industry since I first launched “PiercingMetal Musings” which was originally The Official Blog of PiercingMetal.com back in 2009. Since then a lot has changed for our outlet and now some two years after the integration of that blog into the core content of the website, our comic book posts are happening more than ever. In addition to the monthly solicitations notices, I’m showcasing variant covers, special edition re-issues and alerts on top of the increasing comic book reviews. Simply put, we remain ardent fans of the medium and enjoy showcasing the coolest of the cool for our Heavy Music readership. With all of these posts taken into consideration, I felt that it was high time to support the illustrious Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards or “The Eisner Awards” as its commonly known. Below you will find all of the nominees and the winners for this years awards that were given out a couple of days ago at the Comic Con International: San Diego. I’ve marked them in bold and added the word “WINNER” at the close in case you are having the narrative read to you. Let’s look.

Best Short Story:
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine, in Optic Nerve #14 (Drawn & Quarterly) – WINNER
“Black Death in America,” by Tom King and John Paul Leon, in Vertigo Quarterly: Black (Vertigo/DC)
“Hand Me Down,” by Kristyna Baczynski, in 24 x 7 (Fanfare Presents)
“It’s Going to Be Okay,” by Matthew Inman, in The Oatmeal, http://theoatmeal.com/comics/plane
“Lion and Mouse,” by R. Sikoryak, in Fable Comics (First Second)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot:
Silver Surfer #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel) – WINNER
A Blanket of Butterflies, by Richard Van Camp and Scott B. Henderson (HighWater Press)
I Love This Part, by Tillie Walden (Avery Hill)
Mowgli’s Mirror, by Olivier Schrauwen (Retrofit/Big Planet)
Pope Hats #4, by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse)

Best Continuing Series:
Southern Bastards, by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour (Image) – WINNER
Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
Giant Days, by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, and Max Serin (BOOM! Studios/BOOM! Box)
Invincible, by Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley, and Cliff Rathburn (Image/Skybound)
Silver Surfer, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel)

Best Limited Series:
The Fade Out, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image) – WINNER
Chrononauts, by Mark Millar and Sean Murphy (Image)
Lady Killer, by Joëlle Jones and Jamie S. Rich (Dark Horse)
Minimum Wage: So Many Bad Decisions, by Bob Fingerman (Image)
The Spire, by Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely (BOOM! Studios)
Continue reading The Full 2016 Eisner Award Winners