Tag Archives: brian pulido

Lady Satanus Storyline Coming

The Press Release:
Coffin Comics announced today, that the new character Lady Satanus is in development for her own story by creator/writer Brian Pulido and co-writer Mike MacLean. The announcement came in advance of her 1st appearance in Lady Death: Blasphemy Anthem #1.

“The sneak preview of Dawn McTeigue’s Lady Satanus cover for the Lady Death: Blasphemy Anthem #1 really created a buzz. And rightfully so,” say co-writer Mike MacLean. “As for the character herself, if you took a wicked, silver-tongued socialite and gave her access to the darkest magics of Hell, you’d have an idea of what Lady Satanus is like.”

coffin comics, lady satanus

Based on the overwhelming support from Coffin Comics fans of the Lady Satanus sneak preview cover, legendary comic book creator Brian Pulido was forced to take notice. Thankfully, he has a delicious story in mind, “I think the fiends will be happy,” Pulido claims.

The project release date is yet to be announced.

About Coffin Comics:
Coffin Comics is an independent publishing company, founded in September 2007 by Chaos! Comics founder and Lady Death creator, Brian Pulido. Coffin is dedicated to rock-n-roll inspired, supernatural tales and continues to craft authentically rare, small batch, limited edition comic books and assorted items for the discerning collector.

*** end of transmission ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: As I didn’t manage to read “Lady Death: Blasphemy Anthem” #1 where the character was first introduced, I will not really add anything to the mix since I am not in the know. I need to see if my local retailer has a copy somewhere on the racks hidden by those who move the issues around when shopping. Wish me luck since my shop doesn’t order a whole bunch of the Coffin Comics output and instead only adds a handful or more to their order since the demographic of the place leans more Marvel and DC Comics. I’m curious to see what Lady Satanus is about for sure. What do you fellow comic book geeks think about this news? Chime in down below.

Official Website: http://www.LadyDeathUniverse.com

Coffin Comics Brian Pulido Presents “Fear Fest”

The Press Release:
Under the banner of his new publishing company Coffin Comics, Brian Pulido, the founder of Chaos! Comics and the creator of iconic comic book characters Lady Death and Evil Ernie, announced “Fiend Fest”, coming February 22 – 24, 2019 at the Phoenix Marriot in Mesa, AZ.

“Fiend Fest” (“Fiends” are what Pulido lovingly calls his fans) is not your average comic book convention. Fans of Brian Pulido, Coffin Comics or fans of independent comic book publishing will have an all-access experience of a working comic book publishing company, its staff and creators in this interactive event.

With a $40.00 weekend pass, attendees will receive a collectible Holo-Foil ticket, an exclusive Fiend Fest Edition comic, and a pre-order opportunity for many of the Festival only comics and merchandise. But that is only the beginning.

Creator Guests include Pulido, original Chaos! Comics colorist Jason Jensen, Zombie Tramp Creator Dan Mendoza and many more. Guests will mingle and party with attendees all weekend long.

Attendees can schedule a guided tour of nearby Coffin Comics headquarters (HQ) on Feb. 23 or Feb. 24 and see The Pulido Archive, the War Room, Coffin Comics Shop and other never before seen areas. (Shuttle transportation provided.)

Also never before LIVE comic book creation events will be performed at “Fiend Fest” such as “Instant Jewel Editions” where a jeweler will create jeweled comics “live and in person”. Along with “Instant Metal Editions” where real METAL comic book covers will be created on demand and also the much anticipated “Instant Edition” where a comic book cover is drawn on the spot, then colored and finally printed and returned by the end of the con.

But that’s not all – “Fiend Fest” will also include artist commissions, comic book grading, a trading post (designated area for fans to buy / sell / trade with each other), panel discussions, a Friday night launch party mixer & a Saturday night blow out party. And much more!

“We are pouring our souls into this event,” says Pulido. “But this is it. I’m not planning another Fiend Fest. But it is Lady Death’s 25th anniversary and I wanna celebrate with the fiends, so come on down and have some fun with us!”

About Coffin Comics:
Coffin Comics is an independent publishing company, founded in September 2007 by Chaos! Comics founder and Lady Death creator, Brian Pulido. Coffin is dedicated to rock-n-roll inspired, supernatural tales and continues to craft authentically rare, limited edition comic books and assorted items for the discerning collector.

*** end of transmission ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: My more tenured readers know full well about not only our yearly attendance to the massive NY Comic Con but also some of the smaller and still impacting events like the Big Apple Comic Con, WinterCon and the AnimeNYC event so I think that this is a cool idea. Sadly, we are all the way over in NYC and getting to AZ for a convention is a little difficult on a small budget so you readers in the vicinity will have to fill us in on the mayhem. That’s all I have to say about this news since its been a busy week here at the Metal Media Command HQ but you can let me know what you think down in the comments section below.

Official Website: http://www.LadyDeathUniverse.com

Coffin Comics Brian Pulido Awarded Inkpot Award @ SDCC 2018

The Press Release:
Lady Death creator Brian Pulido was recently honored alongside 15 other industry professionals with an Inkpot Award for Achievement in Comic Arts during the 2018 Comic-Con International in San Diego, California! The Inkpot Award has been primarily awarded to comic book industry professionals since its inception in 1974 at Comic-Con International. Among its past recipients are Stan Lee, Will Eisner, Neil Gaiman, Frank Miller, Gene Colan, Jim Lee, Neal Adams, Dick Giordano and many more.

brian pulido, coffin comics

“It’s an honor to be recognized by Comic-Con International and I really appreciate it!” says Lady Death creator Brian Pulido.
Continue reading Coffin Comics Brian Pulido Awarded Inkpot Award @ SDCC 2018

Coffin Comics Creator Upends Traditional Distribution Channels

The Press Release:
On the day of a new Kickstarter launch, veteran comic book creator Brian Pulido reflects on how far his Scottsdale, Arizona based company has come in three short years. Back then, he just settled a lengthy and costly lawsuit to regain ownership of Lady Death, his signature comic book character. He was at a crossroads. What was next?

Lady Death, a supernatural anti-hero who fights evil was popular in the 90’s but could she be relevant today and how would Pulido reach today’s readers? Looking at the comic book distribution landscape, Pulido concluded his best shot was bypassing the traditional channels and re-launched Lady Death through Kickstarter. The gamble paid off. His first campaign raised $76,553.

brian pulido of coffin comics

“We did four Kickstarters in our first year and everything had to work perfectly or else,” Pulido says. Thankfully it all worked out. Since then, Pulido has completed ten Kickstarters and raised over one million dollars for comic book projects. “We ship all our rewards within eight weeks of our Kickstarter close,” Pulido says.
Continue reading Coffin Comics Creator Upends Traditional Distribution Channels

Exploring NY Comic Con 2016: Day Three, Part Four (10/8/2016)

Well hello there again my readers I’m glad that you’re still rocking along with the ride that is the continuing visual examination from the 2016 NY Comic Con. I’m up to the final presentation from my “Day Three” attendance and as you saw in a previous chapter I just poked around the Artist Alley. With this closing group I’ll be checking out another sight or two in The Block and then heading down to a space known as “Cosplay Corridor”. If you are just now joining into the proceedings please click on THIS LINK first since it will bring you a rundown of all the chapters that have been posted before this one. Let’s get these visuals started in the best fashion with this glimpse of the stunning Steamed Eggs Cosplayer. I call her “Steamie” and she is drop-dead gorgeous in her Psylocke outfit. She was doing a shoot with one of the many photographers you will find at this convention.

ny comic con 2016, nycc 2016

ny comic con 2016, nycc 2016
Continue reading Exploring NY Comic Con 2016: Day Three, Part Four (10/8/2016)