“Sounds of the Underground, Vol. 1: Live From the Starland Ballroom, Sayreville, NJ, July 2, 2005” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Sounds Of The Underground 2005”
Label: DRT Entertainment
Release Date: 6/20/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 7/10

How can one describe the “Sounds Of The Underground” tour of 2005 to those that did not witness it for themselves. To be honest, if it was in your means to attend and you didn’t you very simply missed out on one of the greatest alternatives to the Ozzfest tour. Your chance to see what you missed comes now as a result of this DVD entitled “Sounds Of The Underground: Live At The Starland Ballroom Pt. 1” coming at you courtesy of DRT Entertainment. This DVD brings you up close and personal to sixteen of the performances from the show at Sayreville’s notable venue and while it is not the full show it should serve as something to spark the interest in your future attendance. The film itself is a little different for while it shows you killer songs from Lamb Of God, Devildriver and Unearth you are also getting a fully enjoyable view into the backstage antics from this tour. The show this comes from was filmed on one of the hottest days the Summer of 2005 had to offer and stayed true to the Metal cause. The viewer is able to see just how much fun the guys in the bands were able to have and while sometimes this footage gets arduous to watch I did not find it to be the case here. The bonus features continues the amount of backstage footage and interviews and to be honest this all should have been a separate DVD while performances were focused on their own. A lot of the interview footage is done by the lead singers of both Lamb Of God and GWAR, both being very well-done and amusing showing that the bands were not taking this too seriously outside of their lethal performances. There are also some fun interactions with the fans. Musically the viewer will most likely remember the performance of Strapping Young Lad that also included some on the spot ventriloquism by lead singer Devon Townsend along with the very different styles of the band Clutch.

I admit to a little disappointment in the omission by the band Opeth who has no music featured on the DVD. The band only played for under 30 minutes and did 3 songs but I am assuming their section is being saved for some other edition of the release. With this release being part one of an undisclosed number of releases we can only hope that the future editions will focus mainly on the music and less on the running around antics. It’s a fun film in most cases and I think the bands represented offer a lot to the Metal listening public.

Bands Featured:
1. All That Remains
2. Devildriver
3. A Life Once Lost
4. Madball
5. High On Fire
6. Strapping Young Lad
7. Throwdown
8. Every Time I Die
9. Norma Jean
10. GWAR
11. Chimaira
12. Poison The Well
13. Unearth
14. Clutch
15. From Autumn To Ashes
16. Lamb Of God

Official Web site: www.soundsoftheundergroundtour.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.