“Sleeping Giants” by Casket Salesmen

Artist: Casket Salesmen
Title: “Sleeping Giants”
Label: Longhair Illuminati
Release Date:
Genre: Alt-Hard Rock
Rating: 3/5

The Casket Salesmen are much along the line of a Melodic/Experimental/Jam Rock band than anything that their cryptic name would ever have you believe their style to be. They blend alternative feels with tasty rhythms and melodies to give you an enjoyable dose of Rock & Roll. Led by singer/guitarist Phil Pirrone the group adventures into several different genre territories and yet still manage to capture the listener’s attention on every cut. Pirrone (bass, vocals, programming) who heads up the independent label Longhair Illuminati, and his musical partner Nathan Lindeman (guitar, vocals, programming) both come to this new group with the history between them as being former members of A Static Lullabye. So clearly off the top these guys know how to play together and also what generally can work among the circles of listeners that they had built over the years in their previous band. There is a lot of Post-Punk vibe that sometimes touches upon the Prog-Rock angle along with some Ambient/Atmospheric feels that make the band something worth listening to a few times before making any rash judgments on your liking it or not. Opening track of “I’ll Buy That For A Dollar” shows that the band has some influence from other groups like Smashing Pumpkins, and Foo Fighters and listeners to those particular groups will certainly enjoy The Casket Salesmen and what they bring to the table. I also love the overall groove of the two-part “Feeling Ten Feet Tall”.

There are a number of instrumental pieces on the album which shows that they have a solid groove and the ability to jam along without boring the listener. It’s deep and melodic and all ends but not overly technical and keeps your interest. The album was recorded with many guest musicians and includes Ryan Knights, Steve Borth, Chris Sheets, Anthony Alagna, and Nicole Verhamme respectively. If Melodic Rock that dares to experiment a little bit is what you like then you will appreciate this album.

Track Listing:
1. I’ll Buy That For A Dollar
2. Dr. Jesus
3. Shanghai Sally
4. The Anaheimlich Maneuver
5. Forked Tongues
6. Peace Monger
7. Art Sandwich
8. Feeling Ten Feet Tall Part One
9. Feeling Ten Feet Tall Part Two
10. Goodnight, Jugdish

Official Website: www.casketsalesmen.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.