“Shine” by Edenbridge

Artist: Edenbridge
Title: “Shine”
Label: Massacre Records
Release Date: 10/26/2004
Genre: Melodic Power
Rating: 7.5/10

Edenbridge is described as “Angelic Bombast” Metal” and on first listen this German group certainly shows that they offer a level of difference in the Power Metal genre. With “Shine” the musical delivery is wide and the texture of sounds an open field to play on. Fronted by the stunning Sabine Edelsbacher, the band shows that Germany is not to fall short in the current market of such Female fronted bands from the Scandinavian Countries. While some might form associations between Sabine and Tarja (Nightwish), the both are completely different. Tarja leans towards Opera in her style and Sabine instead is easier and softer melodic singing. There are no yells and arias but that does not take away from her vocal prowess in the least. Sabine truly has a beautiful voice and it is very well showcased on this CD. I think that this difference will allow the fans of one band to quickly find something they like in the other. Overall this CD is a great listen and this was my first real chance to sit with full piece by them. It begins with “Shine” which while an interesting track could have been the second tune. I felt using “Move Along Home” would have been better as the starter. It quickly brings you into the band sound with its fast guitar work and drumming patterns.

“Centennial Legend” with its soft piano intro truly shows off how passionate Sabine’s voice can be. “Wild Chase” is a little more uptempo and has some unique sounds from the guitar or keyboard going on in it (I was not certain who was doing the part). The effect is almost that of a violin and could have been executed by either Lanvall or Andreas Eibler. “The Canterville Prophecy” is one of my favorites as the overall melody is very deep. I draw a conclusion that after listening to Edenbridge that they clearly have more radio “friendly” material than that of Nightwish. While the band has some moments of being heavier as with tracks like “October Sky” it is not as much as Nightwish would do. It is also not operatic at all and is more based on harmony with the other members of the group. As a fan of Nightwish looking to expand his collection of the European sound I was pleased to see this as the main difference. Core creator and guitarist Lanvall has succeeded in creating very accessible Power Metal.

This is a recommendation for fans of both Nightwish and Leaves Eyes for I think Sabine completes a vocalist triangle. Each of them performs in a register different enough to enjoy all of them. At present this seems only available as an import, so USA readers might pay a little more for it. Pricy or not it is still a great and recommended piece. Check samples before you buy or do more research.

Track Listing:
1. Shine
2. Move Along Home
3. Centennial Legen
4. Wild Chase
5. And The Road Goes On
6. What You Leave Behind
7. Elsewhere
8. October Sky
9. The Canterville Prophecy
10. On Scared Ground (bonus track).

Official Web site: www.Edenbridge.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.