“Rock Did It” by Dirty Rig

Artist: Dirty Rig
Title: “Rock Did It”
Label: Escapi Music
Release Date: 6/27/2006
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 7/10

Kory Clarke, lead man in underground mega-sensation Warrior Soul has returned once again and what a great return it is. Gone is the politically charged venom that once fueled his previous band and made them different from the colors of the day. With Dirty Rig you get a no bones about it, kick in the teeth brand of Rock and Roll the way it’s supposed to be done. This is a barroom patron’s dream band full of attitude and alcohol much to which the band rallies in the stellar “Drunk Again”. There is a lot of solid material on the album and it is far from his original course of Warrior Soul as the band sings of “Hot Porno Star”s and “Dogs” instead of social injustices. One of my favorite tracks is the title “Rock Did It” and I wondered why this was not the opener and was instead left waiting as track five. They start you off with “Suck It” which just might be the bands crude way of saying hello to the listener; I have to admit that both songs sound very “live” in their feel and overall drive. Outside of the more rocking numbers on the release I also found “Cities, Scenes and Thieves” to be a highlight of the album and perhaps the closest semblance to his Warrior Soul years in the way the lyrics run. The group is made up of Clarke (vocals), Chas (guitars), Dave Ardolino (drums) and a bassist known only as “Buckshot” and together you get a gritty feel that makes Dirty Rig appeal to the rock club dwellers. This is raise your fist and drink a beer music and having seen them a few times before the record deal was secured, I can attest to their sound in the live sense. If you see them you will have a good time and that’s what matters most. You get what you pay for with Dirty Rig and sometimes you get a little bit more.

Initial pressings of the CD come with a bonus DVD that features seven performance tracks from areas in New York City (mostly the Continental club off Saint Marks Place). That bonus alone makes the CD worth investigating and if you were a fan of Clarke in the past then you owe it to yourself to look into this band he has now. They say “Rock Did It”, and yes it apparently did. What are you going to do about it?

DVD Tracks: Rock Did It, Throw Away, Just A Star, Hitch Hiker, Suck It, Cities Scenes & Thieves, GTO

Track List:
1. Suck It
2. Drunk Again
3. Just A Star
4. Dogs
5. Rock Did It
6. Hot Porno Star
7. Throw Down
8. Cities, Scenes & Thieves
9. If You See Kaye
10. Pennsyltucky

Official Web site: www.dirtyrig.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.