“Revolver” by The Haunted

Artist: Haunted
Title: “Revolver”
Label: Century Media Records
Release Date: 10/19/2004
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 4/5

Sweden’s The Haunted find their Century Media debut as a total mix of Metal genres with an excellent result. There is a little bit of your classic Thrash mixing with some Speed and traces of Gothenburg thrown in for good measure. The musicianship is tight and delivers on the record very well with heavy tunes and a driving power that not all bands can keep by their fourth album. The main reason for the Haunted being so accustomed to this level of perfection is due to the fact that the group features the talents of the Bjorler Brothers who come from a little band known as At The Gates. Their involvement gives them a better insight to the Metal scene than a lot of bands could ever hope for and with rEvolver the push the bar up another notch. The vocals of Dolving are fantastic across the whole piece since not only does he scream like a man with his last breath, but he also has a melodic side that you see mixed in for “Burnt To A Shell”. However, if you simply prefer a total full force throttling then you might better enjoy songs like “No Compromise” and “Who Will Decide”. Much of the journey that The Haunted will take you on will make you find the need to stomp and form a pit in support of their music. Joining the Bjorler Brothers and Mr. Dolving is Per Jensen (drums), and Patrik Jensen (guitars).

This album came as a surprise to me in terms of the overall enjoyment I ended up having as I listened. The wide mix variety and sheer brutal energy displayed along with their creative ideas make this CD a very high recommendation. As noted above this is the bands fourth album, but the first on Century Media Records. It also marks the return of the Dolving as the bands vocalist. Fans of Metal with a message will appreciate this album very much, and make sure you read the lyrics as they got some well-written stuff in there.

Track Listing:
1. No Compromise
2. 99
3. Abysmal
4. Sabotage
5. All Against All
6. Sweet Relief
7. Burnt To A Shell
8. Who Will Decide
9. Nothing Right
10. Liquid Burns
11. Fire Alive
12. Smut King – bonus
13. My Shadow – bonus

Official web-site: http://the-haunted.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.