“Retrospective, Vol. 1 (1974-1980)” by Rush

Artist: Rush
Title: “Retrospective, Vol. 1 (1974-1980)”
Label: Atlantic Records
Release Date: 5/6/1997
Genre: Progressive Rock
Rating: 4/5

“Retrospective” would be the second collection of Rush classics or greatest hits, if you can consider bands of this type actually being considered “hit makers” against the likes of those artists who get more mainstream airplay than they deserve. That first release was called “Chronicles” and to many this was all one needed for a bare bones overview of the bands musical mastery. The fourteen tracks compiled here take the bands work from their debut release “Rush” and bring you up until “Permanent Waves” which amounts to the groups first seven studio albums minus the live effort “All The World’s A Stage”. For the Rush fanatic a collection like this comes off as something of a cash grab from the label because in their minds eye there is no reason to own only a few tracks when one can easily purchase the original release and savor all of the tracks as opposed to a mere one or two from any particular album. For the new fan of the band and yes these people are still coming into observation, this is a nice way to introduce them to the bands earliest work even if it does leave off one or two essential tracks. Packaging wise they were rather skint in the booklet area and instead of offering the buyer a comprehensive batch of liner notes and historical photos they merely give you the graphics of the individual album covers. This is not recommended for the Rush diehard and more for that listener in need of an education. Of course if you are seeking a nice first era overview to keep in the office or car then this is a perfect choice for you.

A second volume of hits or better yet, essential staples, can be found on the collection “Retrospective II: 1981-1987” which continues the process of outlining their musical history and overall impact on the Progressive Rock music genre.

Track Listing:
1. The Spirit Of Radio
2. The Trees
3. Something For Nothing
4. Freewill
5. Xanadu
6. Bastille Day
7. By-Tor And The Snow Dog
8. Anthem
9. Closer To The Heart
10. 2112 Overture
11. The Temples Of Syrinx
12. La Villa Strangiato
13. Fly By Night
14. Finding My Way

Official Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.