“Reinkaos” by Dissection

Artist: Dissection
Title: “Reinkaos”
Label: The End Records
Release Date: 5/16/2006
Genre: Melodic Black Metal
Rating: 4/5

Dissection would return with more of their Black Metal, or self-named “Anti Cosmic Metal Of Death” after an 11 year absence from the music world. The long absence was due to singer/guitarist Jon Nodtveidt having been sent to prison for murder and all the while his fans waited anxiously for his return. The time away from the scene as a whole seemed to change the song-writing style of the musician, for while his subject matter would still deal with the same premise the overall music style would hold a drastic change. The results found on “Reinkaos” are intense but not in a blistering riff blaze of speed but instead heavy, driving riffs that work well alongside bands like Soilwork and At The Gates. While there might be skeptics to this change of direction, I had to admit that I found myself immersed in songs like “Black Dragon” and “Beyond The Horizon” and think many others will be able to do the same. Yes the songs have a lot more melodic content than they ever had before, but on top of this the talent of Nodtveidt is very visible. “Starless Aeon” is also a favorite as the track is borderline Power Metal and I admire his ability to take this brand of genre and mix it so well with ones own established ideas. Nodtveidt shows his allegiance to the Dark Gods with “God Of Forbidden Light” and even delivers a tasty instrumental piece in the title track “Rainkaos”. It’s a song that shows how technical a guitar player Jon was and I think will make the non-believer realize how much a better musician he actually was. The closing track is not bad, but perhaps a little too commercial for a band like Dissection to have released, and that track is “Maha Kali”. This is a must have release as its excellent, and if you are not stuck in the bands past and can allow them to move forward then you will enjoy their new styles and interpretations very much.

Editor’s Note: This review also comes with some sad information as during the week of 8/16/2006, guitarist/singer/founder Jon Nodtveidt took his own life. His work for Black Metal will live on through their CD and DVD releases. According to a statement on the bands official site, “Jon felt he had accomplished his self-created destiny”. The CD was released shortly after the bands final tour of the US was abruptly cancelled, making this a worthy document of their impact and power.

Track List:
1. Nexion 218
2. Beyond The Horizon
3. Starless Aeon
4. Black Dragon
5. Dark Mother Divine
6. Xeper I Set
7. Chaosophia
8. God Of Forbidden Light
9. Reinkaos
10. Internal Fire
11. Maha Kali

Official Web site: www.dissection.nu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.