“Rage For Order” (remaster) by Queensryche

Artist: Queensryche
Title: “Rage For Order” (remaster)
Label: Capitol Records
Release Date: 5/6/2003
Genre: Progressive Metal
Rating: 7.5/10

Queensryche would not suffer the dreaded “sophomore curse” with their second album but it would not win over all of their fans right away. It was not as much the display of Progressive Metal that their debut was but instead a dark and more somber musical experiment. The dramatic use of keyboards and an emphasis on technological aspects made this a little difficult to appreciate at first listen for the typical Metal fan. However, at the second turn at the music you will find yourself taken to a world that is as dark as it is thought-provoking. Songs like “Walk In The Shadows” and “I Dream In Infrared” were powerful and showcased a different Queensryche than we had experienced on the last album and from their tours. Maturing more and more as time went on, they were proving themselves worthy of holding the torch that was being held high by the likes of Judas Priest and Iron Maiden. In 1986 when this album was released both bands were riding a Metal wave that was showing no signs of stopping.

As the ‘Ryche (now referred to as this by fans) delivered “Screaming In Digital” and “Gonna Get Close To You” they showed the world that they were moving in a more Progressive Rock direction as opposed to sticking to Metal. It was a smart move for it allowed a level of growth that was not usually seen in a newer band and these progressive adventures combined with their last album would soon give the world the bands masterpiece.

The remasters of the Queensryche catalog are amazing and include not only bonus art and liner notes but live and unheard tracks. “Rage For Order” includes some smart remix and acoustic numbers that are sure to please their core fan base. This is a recommended release but should not be your introduction to the sound for it bears a little more advance preparation and once you do that this will be among your favorites.

Track Listing:
1. Walk In The Shadows
2. I Dream In Infrared
3. The Whisper
4. Gonna Get Close To You
5. The Killing Words
6. Surgical Strike
7. Neue Regel
8. Chemical Youth (We Are Rebellion)
9. London
10. Screaming In Digital
11. I Will Remember
12. Gonna Get Close To You – bonus
13. The Killing Words – bonus live
14. I Dream In Infrared – bonus acoustic
15. Walk In the Shadows – bonus live

Official Web site: www.queensryche.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.