“Pro Patria Finlandia” by Impaled Nazarene

Artist: Impaled Nazarene
Title: “Pro Patria Finlandia”
Label: The End Records
Release Date: 4/18/2006
Genre: Black/Thrash Metal
Rating: 3/5

There is nothing subtle about the music of Impaled Nazarene and for 15 years, they have shown the world that despite being banned or lambasted for their subject matter – which they simply will not change the course from delivering some of the most brutal Black & Thrash Metal that fans can hope to absorb. Lead singer Sluti666 is maniacal across the album as he belts out some of their more controversially titled tracks like “Goat Sodomy” and “This Castrated World” or “Something Sinister” (which has a chorus that will surely send some listeners off the edge). I think that this is the reaction that they want their music to have on you. Musically this is a very tight release and has many Punk aspects to it and perhaps that is the downfall of it besides the rather jarring lyrical content. As a piece of music, there is quite a bit of similarity across the recording with many songs finding the same drum pattern and guitar riffs under the growling vocals. This similarity might make this a boring CD for some of the fans who are listening to the more progressive and Experimental Black Metal bands. However, it is quite possible that this is the plan that the band had with the album but since I was not being present for the writing sessions I can only guess about that. I did enjoy a few tracks on the album, as they were the most detailed in terms of the music being executed on the piece. “One Dead Nation” has a pounding straight-ahead Metal feel to it and “This Castrated World” since it offered some thundering drumming that changed up from straight blast-beats at points.

The band established themselves long ago and no longer need to prove anything to the Metal buying public as to their appeal to the fans that enjoy this type of music. As a fan, I lean more towards a little more progressively themed Metal and find a release like this too repetitive yet for those who have followed Impaled Nazarene for the fifteen years past this is exactly what they are hoping for. The members on this recording are guitarists Tumio and Onraj 9mm while Arc V 666 and Repe Misanthrope handle the bass and drums to Sluti666’s screams. Lyrics are provided in the booklet if you should dare to read through them. It’s not an album for everyone and yet somehow I think this is how Impaled Nazarene intended it to be.

Track Listing:
1. Weapons To Tame A Land
2. Something Sinister
3. Goat Sodomy
4. Neighbourcide
5. One Dead Nation Under Dead God
6. For Those Who Have Fallen
7. Leucorrhea
8. Kut
9. This Castrated World
10. Psykosis
11. Contempt
12. I Wage War
13. Cancer
14. Hate-Disease-Arrogance

Official Website: http://www.campnazarene.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.