“Overkill” (remaster) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Overkill” (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 10/25/2005
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

To celebrate the band’s 30 year career, Sanctuary Records is re-issuing expanded and remastered versions of some of their best albums. The two CD sets come with the original album remastered, along with a second CD that is loaded with bonus and unreleased tracks. The jewel cases are slip-cased and include full-color booklets that are packed with topical information on the release as well as photos and notes from the time of the album’s release.

Motorhead’s 1979 release of “Overkill” was going to be the album that found Lemmy, Philthy and Fast Eddie coming into their own unique sound and execution of their music. Cited by the band’s founder as “we are simply a Blues band that plays their music at 1000 miles per hour” the wheels were officially in motion as Motorhead began to dominate the building Heavy Rock scene. Those who were fans in the beginning realize that the band was never Metal, but more fast-paced and thunderous Rock and Roll in the purest form. I think this combination of straight forwardness and power met the level of appeal that it did purely because it was never masked as anything other than what it was. “Overkill” is filled with a number of classics that still remain a part of the bands set to this very day and the band’s playing was growing tighter with each album. Favorites on the album include “Stay Clean” and of course the title track as well as “No Class” and “Metropolis”. There was nothing subtle about Motorhead as a band and the music on this album celebrated that fact. The release year of 1979 also found this being a fitting headstone of the world of Disco music. Motorhead would open up the door for the 80’s Rock bands a little bit and their influence would begin to resonate in musicians all around the world.

Bonus CD: Louie Louie (3 versions), Tear Ya Down (3 versions), Too Late Too Late, Like A Nightmare (2 versions). BBC Session 1978 (Louie Louie, I’ll Be Your Sister, Tear Ya Down), BBC Session 1979 (Stay Clean, No Class, I’ll Be Your Sister, Too Late Too Late, (I Wont) Pay Your Price, Capricorn, Limb From Limb.

While not my favorite of the catalog, I do like this release and primarily recommend the remasters for their included extras. You can’t go wrong with them as much of these live recordings were unavailable for years. Motorhead was either a band that you loved or that you hated and it seemed like Lemmy would have you no matter what you thought. Grab this release to remember some of the early years and by all means – Stay Clean.

Track Listing:
1. Overkill
2. Stay Clean
3. (I Won’t) Pay Your Price
4. I’ll Be Your Sister
5. Capricorn
6. No Class
7. Damage Case
8. Tear Ya Down
9. Metropolis
10. Limb From Limb

Official Website: www.IMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.