“Osaka Popstar & The American Legends Of Punk” by Osaka Popstar

Artist: Osaka Popstar
Title: “Osaka Popstar & The American Legends Of Punk”
Label: Ryko Records
Release Date: 5/23/2006
Genre: Power Punk
Rating: 4/5

As soon as you put on the CD by Osaka Popstar & The American Legends Of Punk you are taken to a fun-filled ride into the Power Punk world. The group is made up of John Cafiero (vocals), Jerry Only (bass), Dez Cadena (guitar) and Marky Ramone (drums) and given their rosters background includes The Misfits, The Ramones and Black Flag the expected result is a roller coaster that everyone is going to want to jump on for a few spins. Ivan Julian also appears on a few of the tracks. Cafiero has been a long time contributor to the Misfits music and along with the group delivers some great covers, as well as do justice to his original material. Some of the more notable covers being “Wicked World” and “Blank Generation”, the latter being made popular originally by Richard Hell. Other songs like “Astro Boy” and “Sailor Moon” make you feel like you are jumping into a Saturday morning cartoon, and the booklet enclosed surely adds to that feeling with its amazing illustrations. It was a truly fun listen and is quite catchy if you come to think of it – you only need one listen to find yourself humming a lot of what is happening on the album and that is never a bad thing for a bands work.

The CD comes with a bonus DVD that features two videos (“Wicked World” and “Insects”) and the “Insects” video will seem familiar to listeners who might remember those weird creatures in the Quiznos commercials. It’s the same form of animation and comes from the same design team. This is a recommended release if you are a fan of quirky tunes with an overall catchy base to them. Simple in nature and long lasting in the overall appeal, it was a welcome contribution from some truly legendary Punk luminaries.

Track Listing:
1. Wicked World
2. Astroboy
3. Sailor Moon
4. Man Of Constant Sorrow
5. Insects
6. I Live Off You
7. Xmas Intro
8. The Christmas That Almost Wasn’t
9. Love Comes In Spurts
10. Blank Generation
11. Monsters
12. Where’s The Cap’n
13. Shaolin Monkeys

Official Website: http://www.osakapopstar.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.