“One Day It Will Please Us To Remember Even This” by The New York Dolls

Artist: The New York Dolls
Title: “One Day It Will Please Us To Remember Even This”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 7/25/2006
Genre: Glam Rock
Rating: 4/5

The New York Dolls were probably the most driving and influential force in what would become known as the Glam Rock movement because at the time of their inception there was no such thing. Without the music of the Dolls the world would have never seen the likes of KISS, Hanoi Rocks and even Poison. Their mix of Glitz and Sleeze along with Rock & Roll showed that all three could be mixed and work together very well. The songs back then focused on things like the N.Y. streets, drugs and women and thus were a genre started. Others would watch closely, use these influences and adapt them into their own styles – others who would also change the way Rock music was accepted as being able to be done. Originally formed by David Johansen, Johnny Thunders, Arthur Kane, Sylvain Sylvain and Billy Murcia, 2006 would find the band reunited with only Johansen and Sylvain left from the early days. Today the group is made up of those two originals along with Sami Yaffa (bass), Steve Conte (guitar), and Brian Delaney (drums). The question arises in the relevance of such a Reunion with so few originals remaining to make it work and the answer is that this does work on many different levels. The Rock of today needed a band like the Dolls to kick them in the tail pipe once again because it has gotten too lame and too boring. Those that fear the Metal side and want safer ground surely could use the Dolls as music that delivers what it promises to. Solid Rock and Roll with a healthy dose of attitude instead of powdery puffed hit makers directed at the youth by the likes of MTV.

This was a good idea for Johansen as well for while he was doing his Buster Poindexter “Hot, Hot, Hot” thing and while that might have made him a ton of money it was clearly not as influential as what he did as a New York Doll. The recent barrage of bands on label competitor Liquor & Poker Music shows that there is a fan base for this brand of Rock once again and to me that is a very good thing since it is always been something that is pure. “Dance Like A Monkey” and “Fishnets & Cigarettes” are sure fire hits, and “We’re All In Love” is a foot tapping number that just asks for the audience to sing along. Johansen is in perfect swagger on “Take A Good Look At My Good Looks” and “Dancing On The Lip Of A Volcano”, proudly showing that he has improved over the years like a fine wine. His vocals were always unique and they do shine on this album that will no doubt serve as a reminder to the bands classic days in some fashion. The CD comes with a bonus DVD that features a video for the song “Seventeen” as well as a behind the scenes feature on the making of the album. I enjoyed the release and even caught a live show where the band strutted their stuff. The new members fit in just fine and now its time for a new generation to see how a lot of stuff began. Go ahead, dance like a monkey, I’m pretty sure no one is watching. When you’re done you can check out this album a little more.

Track Listing:
1. We’re All In Love
2. Runnin’ Around
3. Plenty Of Music
4. Dance Like A Monkey
5. Punishing World
6. Maimed Happiness
7. Fishnets & Cigarettes
8. Gotta Get Away From Tommy
9. Dancing On The Lip Of A Volcano
10. I Ain’t Got Nothin’
11. Rainbow Store
12. Gimme Luv & Turn On The Light
13. Take A Good Look At My Good Looks

Official Website: www.nydolls.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.