“Nothing” (remaster) by Meshuggah

Artist: Meshuggah
Title: “Nothing” (remaster)
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 10/31/2006
Genre: Technical Experimental Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

There are very few people who will argue with you should you proclaim that Meshuggah is one of the true innovators in Heavy Metal music. This remaster of 2002’s “Nothing” reminds you why this is the case as it is loaded with technical guitar wizardry from Henrik Throndel, that gets compounded by the thunderous drumming of Thomas Haake. As you listen, often mystified about what you will hear, you come to wonder how such a band could even exist in a scene that does not often accept such change all too readily. Jens Kidman’s has a growling presence that commands your attention – and with songs like “Stengah” and “Rational Gaze” they show that they are ever-evolving, and ever proving that Metal’s tapestry is a continually weaved thing.

The remaster comes at a good time and is the perfect lead in to the bands forthcoming recording as it reminds you of their sound and delivery of Metal. Their last release was a very experimental sounding “Catch 33”, which was one changing and evolving contiguous song. It was not conventional, even by Meshuggah’s standards but still an interesting piece of music from this band. If you are late to the musical party that they are in charge of then this is the perfect time to get this album for in remastered format the music sounds fresher than before. A bonus DVD that includes videos and live performances are included us live DVD is included with live footage to offer visual confirmation of their impact on the genre. The CD also comes in a slip case and includes a booklet with lyrics and photos along with a tripped-out 3D postcard.

DVD: Straws Pulled Random, In Death Is Death, Future Breed Machine Live @ Download Festival U.K 2005. Videos for: Rational Gaze, Shed, New Millennium Cyanide Christ, Rational Gaze (Mr. Kidman Delirium Version).

Track Listing:
1. Stengah
2. Rational Gaze
3. Perpetual Black Second
4. Closed Eye Visuals
5. Glints Collide
6. Organic Shadows
7. Straws Pulled At Random
8. Spasm
9. Nebulous
10. Obsidian

Official Website: www.meshuggah.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.