“Nailed To Metal: The Missing Tracks” by U.D.O.

Artist: U.D.O.
Title: “Nailed To Metal” – The Missing Tracks
Label: AFM Records
Release Date: 11/2003
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 7/10

The release of U.D.O.’s “Nailed To Metal – The Missing Tracks” is a really good live recording. While I have never really been a fan of Udo Dirkschnieder’s voice, I found myself really feeling the intensity he delivers his songs has been kept throughout his career. I first saw Accept when they opened for KISS on the “Lick It Up” tour and the fans were Legion at this performance. Yet for some odd reason I was not into them yet. I would change that opinion after a few more listens to the “Restless And Wild” and “Balls To The Wall” albums.

I will admit that this release includes all of the Accept tracks that I loved growing up as a young metal fan. “Princess Of The Dawn”, “Balls To The Wall”, Metal Heart” and Restless And Wild” as well as “Fast As A Shark” are all here so that made for an enjoyable listen. It is quite different hearing Stefan Kaufmann as a guitar player rather than a drummer, but the guy on this album Lorenzo Milani does an amazing job and there is a killer drum solo done on the CD. I would later find out that Stefan has not been playing drums since 1987, but as I said I was always a moderate Accept and UDO fan. Igor Gianola is featured on Guitar as is Fitty on the Bass. After doing a little research, I found that the tune X-T-C was an older pre-UDO Accept tune. Clearly UDO does this number justice. UDO completists will enjoy it, and new fans can appreciate it since it covers a wide range of stuff.

After giving this piece a listen, I realized I need to dig up my old Accept music and also find my way to the shops to purchase some U.D.O. I advise fans check this one out and be aware that there is also a DVD of this release available for the hungry metal maven.

Track Listing:
1. Holy
2. Raiders Of Beyond
3. Metal Heart
4. X-T-C
5. Drum Solo
6. Fast As A Shark
7. Princess Of The Dawn
8. Restless And Wild
9. Thunder In The Tower
10. Hard Attack
11. Balls To The Wall

Official Website: http://www.udo-online.de/

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.