“MTV2 Headbangers Ball: The Revenge” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “MTV2 Headbangers Ball: The Revenge”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 4/11/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 7/10

Headbanger’s Ball was an institution in the middle years of MTV that was a phenomenon when it originally aired. It was the place to be on a Saturday night as for a few hours Metal ruled and you would not only see your favorite artists but also be treated to new and exciting music from up and coming bands. The network brought the show back to us a couple of years ago and it no longer features the big hair bands of the eighties that sometimes found their place on the show. As the title denotes the Headbanger’s is back and it has returned for revenge. Roadrunner Records in conjunction with MTV has put together this amazing collection of some of the heaviest music around and it is sure to please the hungriest of Metal appetites. Thirty-eight songs on two CD’s and at an affordable price make this a definite item to investigate. Take a look at the artists whose work you will find here : Slipknot, Korn, Iron Maiden, Hatebreed, Mudvayne, Avenged Sevenfold, HIM, Trivium, Lamb Of God, 10 Years, Disturbed, As I Lay Dying, Lacuna Coil, Underoath, Mastodon, Killswitch Engage, Black Label Society, Bleeding Through, In Flames, Chimaira, Bullet For My Valentine, Arch Enemy, It Dies Today, Opeth, Norma Jean, Devildriver, Still Remains, God Forbid, Throwdown, From First To Last, 38 Crazyfists, Dragonforce, A Life Once Lost, High On Fire, Bloodsimple, Haste The Day, Walls Of Jericho & Kingdom Of Sorrow.

Not all of the bands are Roadrunner Records yet some of their most killer roster like Opeth, Devildriver and Trivium are present for you to enjoy. It was great to find Century Media and Nuclear Blast main attractions here as well and with Arch Enemy, In Flames and Dragonforce there is truly a lot to absorb for any head banging maniac. I found that this was a great CD to own to get an ample dose of the hottest and most current Metal. Your stereo and music player will have their limits tested when this molten music starts to play. The resurgence of Headbanger’s Ball on the now Rap-laden network is a sign of Metal’s refusal to go away quietly. Be wary of starting mosh pits in your living room when this CD plays.

Track Listing:
Disc: 1
1. Slipknot – Before I Forget
2. Korn – Liar
3. Iron Maiden – The Trooper (live)
4. Hatebreed – To The Threshold
5. Mudvayne – Forget To Remember
6. Avenged Sevenfold – Burn It Down
7. HIM – Vampire Heart
8. Trivium – A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation
9. Lamb Of God – Now You’ve Got Something To Die For (live)
10. 10 Years – Wasteland
11. Disturbed – Guarded
12. As I Lay Dying – Through Struggle
13. Lacuna Coil – Our Truth
14. Underoath – It’s Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door
15. Mastodon – Blood & Thunder
16. Killswitch Engage – A Bid Farewell (live)
17. Black Label Society – In This River
18. Bleeding Through – Kill To Believe
19. In Flames – Take This Life

Disc: 2
1. Chimaira – Nothing Remains
2. Bullet For My Valentine – Suffocating Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do)
3. Arch Enemy – Nemesis
4. It Dies Today – Severed Ties Yield Severed Heads
5. Opeth – The Grand Conjuration
6. Norma Jean – Liarsenic
7. DevilDriver – Hold Back The Day
8. Still Remains – The Worst Is Yet To Come
9. God Forbid – The End Of The World
10. Throwdown – Burn
11. From First To Last – The Latest Plague
12. 36 Crazyfists – I’ll Go Until My Heart Stops
13. Dragonforce – Through The Fire And Flames
14. A Life Once Lost – Vulture
15. High On Fire – Devilution
16. Bloodsimple – Sell Me Out
17. Haste The Day – When Everything Falls
18. Walls Of Jericho – A Trigger Full Of Promises
19. Kingdom of Sorrow – Buried In Black (Jamey Jasta with members of Crowbar, Down & Seemless)

Official Web site: www.roadrunnerrecords.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.