“Moment Of Reckoning” by Jacknife

Artist: Jacknife
Title: “Moment Of Reckoning”
Label: Zero Sun Recordings
Release: September 13, 2005
Genre: Heavy/Doom Metal
Rating: 7/10

Everything’s bigger in Texas, or so they say, well so is Jacknife’s sound. Jacknife, a heavy metal band who’s hometown is Dallas, Texas have released their album “Moment Of Reckoning” where influences such as Megadeth, Anthrax, Iron Maiden and Overkill are all prominent throughout the record. We have Steve Pruett (guitar), Mike Warren (guitar), Joseph Fontenot (bass), Joe Ortiz (vocals) and Tommy Crooks (drums) to make up this monstrous sound that Jacknife produces.

This album displays the classic sounds of metal, dueling guitars, wicked beat and fierce energy. Definitely one of the better recordings I have heard lately. “A Glimpse of Hell” is pretty heavy and hard hitting, but so is the rest of the album. The sound is very well recorded and really puts the heat back in your blood. With intensity throughout this album, it really showcases their musical talent. The only gripe I have with this album is the vocals. Raspy, hard hitting, and loud but also out of place and poorly delivered in some cases. Other than a little work on the vocals this looks like one of the few modern day metalcore bands that have some promise. Fan of Hatebreed? You’ll probably really like these guys.

Track Listing:
1. Surrender Never
2. Unbreakable
3. End Of Man
4. A Glimpse Of Hell
5. Deception
6. Ears Fall Endless
7. Breaking Away
8. We The Song
9. Destined To Rise
10. Moment of Reckoning
11. Stand Your Ground
12. Our Time Has Come

Official Website: http://www.jacknife.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.