“Minuteman For The Moment” by Look What I Did

Artist: Look What I Did
Title: “Minuteman For The Moment”
Label: Combat Records/Koch
Release: October 4, 2005
Genre: Post-Hardcore
Rating: 4/10

Look What I Did is a post-hardcore band from Nashville, Tennessee. The band is Barry on vocals, Skeet on guitar, Colby on guitar, Chris on bass, and Miles on drums. This band is unique in the way that you don’t know quite what to classify them into. Are they hardcore? Are they screamo? It’s a toss up but it’s definitely an eccentric arrangement of music that they play. Honestly, it’s more like a pop punk record that tries to be metal.

Let’s be honest here, what is Combat Records doing? How can you go from having legendary metal acts to having just pure…crap? Times change and styles of music evolve but I hardly think terrible music combined with screaming lyrics is the way to go. Their style of singing is very quirky and takes you on a musical roller coaster, one minute your typical band you would expect to be blaring out of Hot Topic and the next a dash of metal just to make it a little interesting. If you do like this style you are in luck, Combat seems to be signing every screaming/teenage angst keyboard screamo band under the sun so if this is your cup of tea, you’re going to be thrilled. This band is very close in relation to the stylings of HORSE The Band. In fact I read that they are compared to having the energy of the Stooges and the wit of the Dead Kennedys… I don’t think I have ever read a more absurd thing in my life.

Track Listing:
1. Minuteman For The Moment
2. Ultimate Complete Home Fitness Machine
3. The Soiree
4. The Fox Eats TV Ishmeal
5. Raining Pleasantries
6. Appomattox Whore House
7. Benevolesaurus Lex
8. Chest Is A Ribcage
9. Lightning Bugs
10. Cupid Full Of Eros
11. If, Was, And Will Be
12. Zanzibar II: Sasha And Sebastian

Official Website: http://www.ihatelookwhatidid.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.