“Metalmania 2008” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Metal Mania 2008”
Label: Metal Mind Productions
Release Date: 8/11/2009
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4.5/5

I’ve reviewed a number of these “Metal Mania” festival DVD’s from Metal Mind Productions and while many of them are good there are also ones that are sometimes difficult to sit through since the roster is not as appealing to me as I would have liked it to be. That being said, the 2008 edition of this festival show is really on the exemplary side and manages to deliver quite a lot of Metal giants while also bringing bands that more people should be supporting into the living room. The film starts off with a band called Inside Out that I had never heard of but did find a little bit interesting, and while I was digging what they were dealing out I could not wait to see the clips from Primordial who are a force to be reckoned with from the Republic Of Ireland. I caught this band when they played the Paganfest USA 2 tour and they were incredible. It was a shame that we only had two numbers from them, but perhaps the full set was recorded and shall see release some time in the future. For those who are unschooled in the band, they are a mixture of Black and Atmospheric Metal that use a heavy Celtic historical vibe. Crushing stuff without question. The same applies for New York’s own Immolation who show that they are still a monstrous force for Metal’s good some twenty plus years after first hitting the scene. Fortunately there were three tunes from them. We find Flotsam and Jetsam following the Immolation treats and while this is the band that first gave us Jason Newstead (ex-Metallica, ex-Voivod) they never really did that much for me so I was rather “meh” during this part of the film. Artillery was fun, 80’s styled Power Metal but since they were leading up to Marduk, Vader and Satyricon I must admit that I breezed through their offerings based on these three Black and Death Metal giants. It was great to see some new footage of Marduk live as their recent attempt at regional touring was thwarted on the Blackenedfest 2009 but they are set to return soon as headliners. Vader is never short of amazing live and this quick brief on them sent me back to watching my “And Blood Was Shed In Warsaw” full live DVD that they put out. Satyricon I would have liked to see more than two songs from as well after having enjoyed them perform as an opener for Cradle Of Filth when that band last hit my region.

We get a healthy offering of Thrash Metal legends Overkill who give us a couple of their classics while Bobby Blitz asks the audience if this is 1987 again based on the reception he sees the band getting. I’ve always enjoyed Overkill in concert and think that perhaps they are now dealing with the tightest lineup in their history. The Dillinger Escape Plan is next and they are really difficult to explain if you have not ever seen them perform live in person. Yes this video gives you an idea but really the sense of insanity, energy and overall unpredictability in their show is better experienced in person. The lighting was a bit static during their set which I felt made it a little hard to enjoy as much as I would have liked. We still get four songs from them. Metalmania 2008 closes out with a dose of Megadeth who continue to remind us of their relevance in Metal with tracks like the newer “Washington Is Next” and the once again popular “A Tout Le Monde”. The video and audio of this release is top notch and that’s based on the Metal Mind Productions people being pretty much experts at this stage of the game themselves. There are at least two dozen full concert films in my own collection that were done by these guys and almost all of them are impressive enough to recommend. The previous editions of Metalmania all delivered a CD audio disc of what seemed to be the second stage bands. This edition did not feature one and I must admit that based on the content of the film that I hardly missed it. This could very well be the best of the lot of these archives and one that I think many of the Metal faithful should look into adding to their own music video libraries.

Track Listing:
1. Inside You – Room In Darkness
2. Inside You – Before The Abyss
3. Primordial – Heathen Tribes
4. Primordial – God To The Godless
5. Immolation – Hate’s Plague
6. Immolation – Passion Hill
7. Immolation – World’s Agony
8. Flotsam and Jetsam – The Master Sleeps
9. Flotsam and Jetsam – Fork Boy
10. Flotsam and Jetsam – Escape From Within
11. Artillery – Into The Universe
12. Artillery – Khomaniac
13. Artillery – Terror Squad
14. Marduk – Baptism By Fire
15. Marduk – Materialized In Stone
16. Marduk – Limbs Of Worship
17. Vader – Sothis
18. Vader – Reign Forever World
19. Satyricon – Now, Diabolical
20. Satyricon – K.I.N.G.
21. Overkill – Necroshine
22. Overkill – Rotten To The Core
23. Overkill – Bastard Nation
24. Overkill – Fuck You
25. Dillinger Escape Plan – Panasonic Youth
26. Dillinger Escape Plan – Milk Lizard
27. Dillinger Escape Plan – Sunshine The Werewolf
28. Megadeth – Washington Is Next
29. Megadeth – Gears Of War
30. Megadeth – A Toute Le Monde
31. Megadeth – Burnt Ice

Official Website: http://www.metalmind.com.pl/metalmania/index.php?jezyk=en

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.