“Masters Of Horror” Soundtrack by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Masters Of Horror”
Label: Immortal Records
Release Date: 10/18/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 6/10

Showtime cable has a great idea in their program “Masters Of Horror” for it takes some of the greatest talents in the genre and lets them create an hour long horror segment as a part of this program. These mini movies are really good and I speak as someone who does not often see Horror films. I changed my tune when you consider Landis and Carpenter are involved as there is a level of quality that is hard to avoid in these directors. The CD companion that features the music showcased in the series is not that rooted in Horror of Masters for that matter. Yes there are some good moments but overall the CD is difficult to absorb unless you want a spattering (pardon the pun) of a wide variety of musical personalities. There were some solid moments on the CD such as the cover of “Enjoy The Silence” by It Dies Today and of course the Mudvayne and Shadows Fall songs are good ones since those particular bands are veterans at delivering powerful Metal to the masses. Serj Tankian does a good track with Buckethead and that might generate an added level of interest. There was a lot of oddly placed Emo-Punk stuff like Scary Kids Scaring Kids and Alkaline Trio which might have fit the context of the show but seemed out of place on an album like this. I was amazed to find Andrew WK on this as I thought he was yesterday’s news already with his vastly similar on every track album. I think more emphasis should have been placed on getting bands that had a Horror motif like Alice Cooper or GWAR or even Rob Zombie. Stuff like that would guarantee a sale and not find this CD like many other soundtracks sitting in bargain bins after the initial excitement about the show wears off. I cannot delve deeper into this release since I was only afforded a sampler as a promo and not a full release.

Track Listing:
1. Small Silhouette – Mudvayne
2. ShaunLuu – Norma Jean
3. Enjoy The Silence – It Dies Today
4. Lazarus In The Wilderness – It Dies Today
5. You Will Remember Tonight – Andrew WK
6. Very Invisible – Armor For Sleep
7. What’s Up Now – Scary Kids Scaring Kids
8. This Is My Own – Shadowsfall
9. Nervous Breakdown – The Bled
10. End Of The Road – Murder By Death
11. Division St. (acoustic) – Thursday
12. Overload – Bloodsimple
13. Megalodon – Mastodon
14. Bottled Up – Death By Stereo
15. At Least You Bought Her Flowers – Fall River
16. We Are One – Buckethead & Serj Tankian
17. Obstructed – Rise Against
18. Bats! – The Bronx
19. Betwixt Her Getaway Sticks – From Autumn To Ashes
20. Keith The Music – Every Time I Die
21. In Transit (For You) – Matchbook Romance
22. Hindsight – Bedlight For Blue Eyes
23. We Can Never Break Up – Alkaline Trio
24. Beast And The Harlot (live) – Avenged Sevenfold
25. Discover Me Like Emptiness – In Flames
26. The Thin Red Line – A Change Of Pace
27. Victoria Iceberg – Bear Vs. Shark
28. If Ever (acoustic) – Gratitude
29. 237 – Fear Before The March Of Flames
30. Contrast Of Light And Dark – Yesterdays Rising

Official Website: www.MastersOfHorror.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.