“Masterpieces” by Hammerfall

Artist: Hammerfall
Title: “Masterpieces”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 7/22/2008
Genre: Power Metal/Heavy Metal
Rating: 3.5/5

Lately I have been having these dreams where I am walking alone in some dark and foreboding part of town when suddenly I am surrounded by cover albums that chase me down until I run into a dead end where I am overtaken and throttled by their seemingly endless numbers. Ok, so perhaps I am exaggerating just a little bit here, but one has to admit that the amount of these types of releases that have been released over the past two years is uncanny. We’ve seen them coming from bands as different in Rock’s musical genre as Poison and Ministry, Queensryche and Def Leppard, Tesla and now even Hatebreed has jumped on board. With this in mind, I now present to you “Masterpieces”, the latest in a batch of cover tunes albums by the ever almighty Hammerfall. In Hammerfalls defense, at least most of these tracks are numbers that the band had recorded over the years and included on either their own releases of the special “tribute to” artist A, B or C as opposed to them sitting down in the studio and deciding to breeze through some classics from the past as their new album. The other great thing about the Hammerfall covers release is the fact that it once again calls to mind some of the often unsung heroes of Metal’s past such as Warlord, Stormwitch and even Chastain for that matter. These were important bands of the time and as the years went by far too many of them had come to be forgotten in the minds of the Metal public. Yes, the Old School fans always hold the banner high but this is a way for the next generation of fan to be reminded of their impact. It’s great to realize that a band like Hammerfall found influence in them, and even bands like Loudness and Riot and together placed all of these ideas into the musical memory banks as they formed their own magic for the continuation of the genre.

In the end I enjoyed most of the album and got a kick out of “Breaking The Law” by Judas Priest since it found the members of the group all switching roles to do it, and “Youth Gone Wild” by Skid Row was another interesting inclusion since it almost became an anthem of the time when we first heard the band. Some of the tunes are dead on renditions and we find this in “Man On The Silver Mountain” and “We’re Gonna Make It”, the Rainbow and Twisted Sister tracks respectively. The band lines out the reasoning for doing such a project in the liner notes and amidst all of the wonderful photos they provided we see the listing for where many of the tracks came from in the first place. It’s important to note that not all of the tracks are legacy numbers and the Skid Row, Europe and Riot piece are all entirely new compositions. As a release of this type it is one of the better ones and it’s a nice way to revisit the things that Hammerfall found influential and relevant to their own origins. I felt it was a lot more sincere and honest than those bands who offered up tracks and then in the liner notes make mention that they had never heard the track when it was first played and only recently discovered its greatness and felt they should now cover it. Hammerfall is working on their next studio album at present and has also delivered a new DVD to the public to enjoy while they wait.

Track Listing:
1. Child Of The Damned – Warlord
2. Ravenlord – Stormwitch
3. Eternal Dark – Picture
4. Back To Back – Pretty Maids
5. I Want Out – Helloween
6. Man On The Silver Mountain – Rainbow
7. Head Over Heels – Accept
8. Run With The Devil – Heavy Load
9. We’re Gonna Make It – Twisted Sister
10. Breaking The Law – Judas Priest
11. Angel Of Mercy – Chastain
12. Rising Force – Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force
13. Detroit Rock City – KISS
14. Crazy Nights – Loudness
15. Nar Vindarna Viskar Mitt Namn – Roger Pontare
16. Flight Of The Warrior – Riot
17. Youth Gone Wild – Skid Row
18. Aphasia – Europe

Official Website: www.hammerfall.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.