“Love Metal” by HIM

Artist: H.I.M.
Title: “Love Metal”
Label: Universal Records
Release Date: 4/14/2003
Genre: Gothic Metal
Rating: 7.5

Universal Music has been doing a great job of getting the music of His Infernal Majesty to the listeners in the U.S.A. They are also doing it in a manner that seems to keep the group in the public eye. Every couple of months a release that has been out in Europe arrives here. The latest addition to this list is “Love Metal” and clearly this is the band at their most polished. Fans who enjoyed “Razorblade Romance” will find a lot of the same type of driving material on this piece. It is a little more straight forward than “Deep Shadows Brilliant Highlights” was and makes for a good overall listen.

Kicking it right into gear is “Buried Alive By Love” which is a tune that brings to mind the killer tracks of early Idol and shows quickly how Ville has become the favored showman that he is. It is perhaps my favorite of the entire piece. “Soul On Fire” (often a concert closer) is a nice quick piece that ebbs and flows until its crashing end. The thing I enjoy most about the music of HIM is its use of these kind of feels, going from slow and moody to often a kicking piece. Sometimes this is employed together and for them it does the trick. “Sacrament” is a big fan favorite and I think this is one of the smoothest tracks on the CD.

As with many HIM releases there are a good amount of slower moodier numbers. “Funeral Of Hearts” and “Fortress Of Tears” best epitomize the gloom and doom side of Ville as he sings of love and loss (his oft recurring themes in his music). The enclosed booklet is full of the lyrics for the tracks (again done in apparently Ville’s hand writing style). A little tricky to read and there are also photos of the members. The cover is interesting for it showcases in bright Gold, the famous “Heartagram” logo that they band is known for. I give the band credit for this instantly identifiable symbol because it very simply works.

The lineup has not changed with Burton, Gas, Mige, Linde and Ville still bringing you their stylish Gothic Music or “Love Metal” as its become known. I recommend this for new fans especially since it is very easy to enjoy the release.

Track Listing:
1. Buried Alive By Love
2. The Funeral Of Hearts
3. Beyond Redemption
4. Sweet Pandemonium
5. Soul On Fire
6. The Sacrament
7. This Fortress Of Tears
8. Circle Of Fear
9. Endless Dark
10. The Path

Official Web site: www.heartagram.com

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.