“Love And Blood” by Panzie

Artist: Panzie
Title: “Love and Blood”
Label: Independent Artist
Release Date: 12/1/2011
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 3.75/5

I’ve lived in New York City for most of my life and have happily wandered my entire music scribe existence on its streets and as result have both met and enjoyed a lot of fantastic music and the people who deliver it. It’s without question that New York is and has always been an attitude and when it comes to its bringing of the Rock, bands have to stand up strong and deliver as intensely as this environment dictates of them. The dark underground alleys and clubs recently gave us the band Panzie whose members are all known from the local scene and whose sound is a powerful, energetic hit to the mid-section; They’ve recently issued their debut album “Love and Blood” on the world and it brings you into their world for sure. The title speaks to just what a working class musician needs to put forth in order to make a name for themselves and the eleven tracks give you a great idea about their own mission. Fronted by Johnny Hawaiian, a multi-tattooed growling vocalist, the album finds his lyrics accompanied by both Johnny Rockit and DC Gonzalez on guitars and together the results work out very well. The release opens with a punch as “All American” gets you started on the ride. This is a perfect opening tune and really puts out a solid drive that caught my attention right away. There is even a clever video for this one that shows off a lot of the Lower East Side of NYC’s nightlife. Try to find it on YouTube.com when you have a moment. Hawaiian seems to have a similar vocal register to Rob Zombie if I needed a quick comparison and there is more growling to his style than meteoric adventuring. It makes sense since this is not that kind of band. “Angry Man” had me rocking for its chorus the most and I really dug the dual crunch of the riffs from Rockit and Gonzalez. “Dance” is a winner but “Jezebel” was another favorite as it had some apparent homage to NYC Punk based on how the groove played out. Nice stuff. They slow down to a mid-paced crunch with “Ride The Blue” and my head was bopping for this one. Skipping ahead a little bit, I’ve always been a fan of the slower and mood inducing tracks and “Dead Men” served this up for me in spades. As it played out on the stereo I felt it in the live sense and being one of the more powerful of the bands repertoire. One thing the listener might notice is that there is sometimes a familiar groove riff that we find in a few of their tunes and this is not a bad aspect but one that I felt helped tie the bands ideas together on the whole.

I’ll leave the rest up to your own discovery but feel that this is a band that should be checked out, and especially if you are one of the fans of what comes out of the New York Hard Rock music scene. There’s a healthy amount of kick your ass numbers that I look forward to hearing live in concert one of these days. Graphically speaking the guys have a solid and focused symbol that really stands out on the album and CD artwork. It differs slightly from the cover but each would make a nice shirt to help spread their musical message. The interior offers some photos of the members and the lyrics in a clever manner but I admit that I found it slightly difficult to read and hence get a better focus on what they were singing about based on the choice of font color. I guess I need glasses after all. Red serves them well for the blood aspect of the title, but not in small characters on black to read it all. Despite my reservation on this, I was happy to find the guys at least offering their fans a couple of fold out pages instead of a single uninformative page.

At the time of this review the album does not appear to be available on any of the popular mediums such as Amazon.com, CD Baby or iTunes and must instead be purchased at a live show or via the bands official website. As I had pointed out, the sound of Panzie is clearly meant to be enjoyed live as many of the tracks speak to your ear in this fashion, please check them out if you see their name attached to any bill. This was an impressive debut from an independent that is for sure. Good luck dudes.

Track Listing:
1. All American
2. Angry Man
3. Dance
4. Built On Hate
5. Alphabet Soup
6. Jezebel
7. Ride The Blue
8. Smooth
9. Dead Men
10. Rise
11. Rock And Roll Gammer

Official Website: http://www.myspace.com/panzierocknroll

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.