“Loud and Dangerous” by L.A. Guns

Artist: L.A. Guns
Title: “Loud And Dangerous”
Label: Shrapnel Records
Release Date: 9/19/2006
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 3/5

The L.A. Guns would be one of the lucky ones when it came to the “Hair Metal” scene of Hollywood in the 1980’s for here we are in 2006 and still able to enjoy a live release composed of songs that sound just as good today as they did when they were first created. Originally formed by Tracii Guns, the band referred to as the “Hollywood Vampires” always managed to have more than a handful of great tracks to dish out and perhaps this is the reason for their longevity on a scene that has changed very drastically since the band first appeared. Their newest live recording plays like an in your face “Best Of” collection and truly when the band does not have endless releases of this type it should focus on your best material rather than too much in the way of new songs that people might not be too aware of. It’s often best that they touch upon the new music rather than to concentrate on it exclusively. Over the years I have seen the band on numerous occasions and the thing that I always remember about them is the energy and electricity that they broadcast during a set. Lead singer Phil Lewis and drummer Steven Riley are the only ones that remain from the original group and are now joined by Adam Hamilton (bass) and Stacey Blades (guitar) but when it comes to sounding like the old days there is little doubt that the fire still exists as a result of the new member participation.

The CD is a satisfying trip to the famous Whisky A Go-Go club in Hollywood and it will have you jumping out of your chair if you can even sit as the energy rocks through you. It’s as close as you can get to seeing them that you can have happen in your living room and there are surely some of your own favorite songs on this as well. Having seen L.A. Guns perform on several occasions I am always happy to see that their staple numbers are never avoided for new material which is often given its place in their set. In addition to the concert audio you get two multimedia tracks that you can watch on your computer as they will not work on your DVD player. Good Rock & Roll does not go quietly into that good night and this CD reminds you of that on every track.

Track Listing:
1. No Mercy
2. Sex Action
3. Over The Edge
4. Rock & Roll Outlaw
5. Nothing Better To Do
6. Hellraisers Ball
7. One More Reason
8. Electric Gypsy
9. Ballad Of Jayne
10. Rip And Tear
11. Don’t Look At Me That Way
12. Hollywood’s Burning – video
13. It Don’t Mean Nothing – video

Official Web site: www.laguns.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.